Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I've been making this recipe for many years. Easter time seems a favorite. I bake mine in loaf pan for about 45min to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are pretty good. I actually made them as muffins instead of a whole cake. I just had a little bit of difficulty with the cinnamon/sugar topping. Most of it came off as I ate it so it was a little messy. Otherwise it tasted great and was easy to make. Oh, and since I didn't have sour cream I used fat free Greek yogurt and that worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is an excellent simple coffee cake I have been making for years after finding the recipe in a Taste of Home magazine. The batter is very thick and I've found it easier to just put all of the batter in the pan spread all of the topping over the top and then just swirl thru the batter. Works great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This cake is AWESOME! I make it almost weekly. the only thing I do differently is add a bit extra cinnimon - love cinnimon - It is moist, wonderful taste, and a huge hit with my friends. The only bad thing about this cake and making it weekly - I live along -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Great cake, I made it for a bake sale and was a quick success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Mix topping mixture with 1/4 c. butter before using. This works much better than drizzling butter on top. Make topping in mixing bowl first, set aside and continue making batter in same bowl without washing. This results in less to wash. Also be certain to grease your pan VERY well. This can be baked in a bundt pan too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
The batter was so thick I had to add another egg to make it more moist and easier to spread in the pan. Agree with others that a smaller baking dish (I used a 9 x 6) is better. Took 55 min to cook with the smaller dish. I also added 1 Tbl cinnamon and 2 teas. nutmeg to the batter, and cut in cold butter to the topping to make it more of a streusel. Overall, turned out great, but only 3-4 stars as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This coffee cake is moist and yummy! I made it for a woman's group and everyone loved it and a few ladies referred to it as a perfect comfort food :) I left out the pecans simply because I was worried there might be nut allergies since I was serving to such a large group. My only critique would be that I am going to double the topping amount next time as I felt there wasn't quite enough topping in ratio to the amount of cake. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
absolutely delicious! this will be a new family recipe favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious! I left out the pecans (didn't have any) and added a layer of sliced apples in with the filling. My husband and I both loved it -- will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States