Sour Cream Coffee Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I made this yesterday and only have 2 pieces left. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. I added margarine instead of the shortening. I did not put in half of the batter first I spay coated the pan and put all of the batter in. Then I generously shook the cinnamon and sugar mixture over the top. I also took a knife and made swirly movements till it was all the way through the batter then I shook more cinnamon sugar on top. This was liked by all the boys as well as Hubby and I. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Terri for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Light, fluffy and very good. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. For the filling, I used brown sugar instead of white and took a knife and swirled it through the batter before baking. Very moist, I might add nuts to the filling next time for some crunch.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this last night and it was meant to be a breakfast cake for hubby in the morning. Well, our home smelled so good while it was baking that we decided to eat some for dessert. It was still warm and light with a light flavor and crusty top. Delicious! This morning I found a note from hubby that it was wonderful in his milk for breakfast, too! I took someone else's advice and folded in the dry ingredients and sour cream instead of beating them in to avoid a tough batter. I used brown sugar for the filling/topping and also flecks of butter. The cake rose very well, and was very moist. I refrigerated it overnight and this morning it seemed heavier and denser. It was sweet but not overly so which is exactly what I like. Great recipe, Terri! It's going to be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dardago, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Wow! Takes some time to mix but well worth the effort. I used brown sugar for the center/top and upped the amount to 1/3 cup. Used 1/2 for the middle layer and added toasted chopped pecans to the top along with about 1/4 stick of cold butter cut sliced and cut into quarters over the entire thing. When the butter melted and folded back into the cake there formed a very nice roll of the sugar, cinnamon down into the cake surface. This was a MUCH prettier and tasty presentation. Thanks Terri for a classic coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINBOWELP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was very easy to make and very tasty, however I think that brown sugar would be better for the cinnamon sugar mix that is put on top and in between the layers. I would also add a few toasted nuts to the topping to make it extra yummy. Overall, a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The basic recipe is fantastic. It does need more topping though. I have make this a couple time adding canned peaches, frozen blueberries, or jam and it works out perfectly. I've also used yogurt instead of the sour cream and it works just as well or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was a tasty recipe, but more of the cinnamon-sugar mix in multiple layers as well as laid in a 13x9 pan and this would be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This coffee cake was moist, mildly sweet, and had a beautiful crumb texture. I've already made this several times and have made it a "regular" on the weekend breakfast menu. I sometimes put in some fruit in the middle layer, with a little cinnamon and brown sugar, then put the remaining cinnamon mixture on top with some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NutsBabyGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
What can I say except Wow and double wow. I am a bakers daughter and found this cake to be moist, easy to make...but it was harder to keep any for myself and my morning cup of coffee. I did manage to take a photo to post here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NutsBabyGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This coffee cake rose beautifully and has perfect texture but is a little on the bland side. I made the recipe exactly as written even though the other reviewers said it needed a little something. I will make again but will add some vanilla and brown sugar to spice it up a little. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rotorwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States