Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I am sorry to give this recipe such a low rating. But it just needs a lot of work. It lacked in flavor and the 'moist' aspect of it tasted more underdone even though it wasn't (it was lightly browned on the top and the toothpick was clean). I have a stove that is less than a year old, so it wasn't my stove either. I am on the hunt for the recipe I used as a teenager. I am going to try Betty Crocker next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Culver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Excellent! I used Leben (Arabic yogurt) instead of sour cream, and it was to die for. Works well as muffins too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turbodonkey
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Made it exactly as described and it was WONDERFUL! Check my pictures. Next time I will make double the topping. I put some in the middle as well as on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is my first review ever, but I couldn't let this one pass. I had never made a crumb cake before and I absolutely LOVED this one! It was so incredibly moist, it's ridiculous. I substituted the sour cream for plain low fat yogurt to reduce the amount of fat. The only thing I had trouble with was the topping, which sank to the bottom of my pan. I read somewhere else that if you let the cake bake for 30 min and then add the crumb topping, it will prevent this from happening, so I'm definitely doing that next time. Thanks for the recipe! My husband can't get enough of this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
batter was as stiff as cookie dough. Needed a rolling pin to roll it out in the reccomdended pan. (my mother who also made this had the same issue). So I had to add some milk to make more the consistency of cake batter. It came out alright. I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I tried this recipe and I made one modification and that was to cut down on the butter by using only a stick and a half. I have one thing to say about this cake -- it is good, good, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This cake is very yummy and moist. I used a nonstick 9" springform pan and doubled the crumble filling. In the middle layer, I also sprinkled about 3 cups of fresh blackberries which had been tossed with a squeeze of lemon juice and 2 T of white sugar. The 1 C of butter seemed a little much, so I also cut it down to a little more than 1/2 C. Chopped walnuts also made a nice addition to the top filling. My husband, my parents, and my coworkers all love this cake and the recipe is just so easy to follow. I'd definitely recommend trying it, especially if you have a bunch of extra sour cream lying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Fantastic! Everyone wants the recipe! I follow it exactly, but I make a little extra filling and pile it on top. I've made this in all shapes and sizes and it always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was so easy to make. I followed the recipe as written and was totally happy with the results. A great use for leftover sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States