Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very dense and moist coffee cake. Maybe a little too moist for my taste (and my younger son's taste). I took it to church for the snack after Sunday school and the entire cake disappeared. So, it is a winner. 4 stars since I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet. I also made double the filling/topping, but did not need use all of it so I would recommend sticking to the recipe in that regard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emiko Marcy Covert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this recipe in mini loaf pans for holiday gifts... Rave reviews! Cooking time in the loaf pans was just about the same as instructed for the 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Delicious! So moist yet light. I had only about a half cup of sour cream so I made up the remaining cup with non fat yogurt that I had on hand. I also doubled the cinnamon topping because I like a layer in the middle also. I made it late Christmas Eve night for our Christmas Day breakfast, knowing that I myself prefer a coffeecake that has 'mellowed' for a few hours. My husband and two grown sons loved it, and so did I. It went quickly!! I just had the last two tiny pieces tonight. The batter of sour cream coffeecakes are typically quite thick; what you do is drop dollops, then spread those around with a thin metal spatula :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I think this coffee cake came out really delicious, but it might be just a bit too rich for me (with all that butter). I made a few changes to the recipe: used plain yogurt instead of sour cream; made 1-1/2 times the amount of filling/topping; and substituted 1/4 cup of almond flour for the white flour. I had to bake it an extra 15 minutes, but the result was very good. And the house smells divine from all the rich cinnamon and butter!! I will make this again, but maybe try reducing by 1/2 stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I added the sour cream and the baking powder together and let the mixture sit for 10 minutes. The reaction of the two makes the sour cream expand even more. I also doubled the filling mixture and poured entire mixture into a tube pan. This took 1 1/2 hours to bake at 350. Unfortunately the cake is bland tasting after letting it sit for 24 hours. I am not sure what I could have added to make the cake part taste "out of this world delicious."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Puzio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The BEST coffee cake ever. I make it for my honey with whole wheat pastry flour, flax meal, and I double the topping. YUM! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and used the 9 x 13 pan. I thought I would never get the batter to spread evenly in the pan, but finally it did after the batter softened up a bit. I think if I make this again I will cut the sugar in the batter to 1 1/2 cups . It is very moist but it is awfully sweet. Too sweet even with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great recipe. So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love this recipe so much, every time I make this it's gone within a day. I usually double the filling but other than that I follow the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious. The cake is very moist and the topping gives it some crunchiness. I took the advice of some others and doubled the topping and added about 3/4 cup chopped pecans to the mixture. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States