Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Okay, nothing overly special about this cake. Decent, but would not make again. Halved the recipe, don't think that changed flavor though. Thanks Edit: Was very moist, and much better after it sat a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
In my opinion this coffee cake is just average. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I didn't put the streusel in the middle, only on top, and there wasn't enough of it to even cover the entire top of the cake. I would definitely recommend at least doubling it, if not tripling it if you want streusel in the middle and on top of your cake. Also, the cake needed to bake for 50 minutes. It was still a little gooey in the middle after 40 minutes in the oven. I don't think this cake is good enough to make again. I'll keep searching for a better coffee cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
So moist and so easy to make! This cake turned out beautifully and it was gone within hours of coming out of the oven. Thanks for the great recipe. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starbar78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Moist, delicious, easy! Everyone loved it! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I usually do not write reviews for the recipes I make, but this coffee cake deserves it. The cake really was moist. The only extra thing I did do was drizzle some homemade icing (that I made with milk, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract) over it. I did not have to make any changes to the actual recipe of the cake, though. I will definitely be using this recipe the next time I make coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
OMG this is AMAZING! I did it in a 9 inch springform pan, and doubled the topping and put it in the middle. AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!! It is sweet (especially with the extra topping), but isn't coffee cake suppose to be????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDA33079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is the first time I've ever left a review of any recipe, but out of all of them that I've tried on this website, this is my favorite by far. I've made it several times and, not only do I love it, I get requests all of the time now. I always make it the same way: Double the topping (but put the majority of it in the middle bc it's better there :), add 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans to the topping and filling mix as well (toast in over 1st if you have time). I use three small loaf pans; you can give one away, freeze one, etc.. I think they taste better this way too. Also, baking time is about 50-60 minutes; I cover with foil halfway through and take foil off the last 5 minutes of baking. This cake is PERFECTION. I have to think that if someone gave it a bad review, they must have messed up somewhere. I've never had anyone try it that didn't like it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Don't believe the hype. I am really surprised by all of the good reviews on this cake. The final product was way too buttery, as well as being way, way too sweet (this is even after I cut the amount of white sugar to a little more than half of what the recipe asks for!). Also, it needs to be cooked much longer. After baking for the amount of time it called for it still looked a little pale, so I left it in the oven for about 10 minutes longer. It still looked pale even with the extra cooking time, but when I checked with a toothpick it came out clean (as recipe instructs to do), so I figured that was just how it was supposed to look. After it had cooled and I cut into it, the middle was the consistency of a fudge brownie, more than cake-like. I agree with another reviewer who said it turns out more like bars (half raw cookie bars), especially since the recipe tells you to use a 13x9 pan. There was hardly enough batter to spread around evenly in the pan for each layer. I would never make this again. Even with adjustments, such as reducing butter and sugar, and increasing the cooking time, it wouldn't really make a difference because it just doesn't taste all that great to begin with. The taste is analogous to half raw shortbread bars with way too much sugar in the recipe to begin with, but then adding even more sugar with the brown sugar topping. If you make this I would suggest halving the butter and sugar, and baking xtra 15-20 mins with foil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Needed a touch more cooktime. I added some belgian chocolate chips and walnuts just to improve upon the artery hardening deliciousness of this already wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Way too sweet, and I never say that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States