Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made the changes suggested by another rater: 1 tsp vanilla, 1.5 cups brown sugar. It was very good, but still a little too sweet with the glaze on top. The family loved it and asked for another. I also sprinkled sliced almonds between the layers. It was very crumbly and moist just like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I found this coffee cake to be very moist and really good. Just a little sweet for me but my boyfriend loved it! He has more of a sweet tooth than I do. I made the recipe as written and think it is only fair to rate and write a review based on following a recipe to a tee. I will definitely make this again. It was easy too. Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
5 stars for the moist cake. 2 stars for the crusty, hard topping. Maybe i did something wrong? I used 3/4 cup butter instead of 1 cup, but I will try 1/2 cup next time as a few others have tried. This coffee cake was a bit tricky to bake as it did not bake evenly, leaving the edges a bit hard and the center soft. Spreading 1/2 the filling into the pan then half the topping and then the rest of the filling was very hard to do...the dough was very very thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Everyone at my work absolutely LOVED this!! I was pretty keen on it too. =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimee78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is absolutely perfect! Very moist. I added blueberries and it was great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I followed the reviews and used half the butter, and a scant 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar instead of the 2 c whjite sugar. I also like what someone had suggested to use Hershey's cinnamon chips sprinkled over the bottom layer, and the second time I made it I sprinkled cinnamon chips AND blueberries (1 pint) - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I only had 1/4 cup of sour cream, so I added 3/4 c. of buttermilk to the mix. Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. Got rave reviews from my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Recipe is just so-so. Needs at least double the topping... but the Cake Batter is pretty tasty/moist. I will try again with some modifications...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Just exactly what great coffee cake should look like and taste like. Classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Really good but way too much butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States