Sour Cream Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Just pulled this out of the oven and cannot wait to cut into it... smells great and looks great...Very moist but lacking the taste I was looking for... Next bake i'll adjust the recipe by adding vanilla or almond and or use cream cheese instead of sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Best Sour Cream Coffee Cake I have made. I made extra of the topping for more in the filling and also on top. I patted large sections with wet hands to lay in the bundt pan, otherwise, it is too difficult to smooth with a spatula (as others suggested). I was asked repeatedly to make this again. Perfect for brunch, or Autumn days when the air is crisp and cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Much like many other folks I added one cup of sour cream and added a little bit of vanilla. The tip of wetting one's hands and then patting down the second layer of the batter was perfect, the batter is thick which I appreciate but I am not sure how else I would have gotten it to spread evenly without wetting my hands and patting it down. This recipe is super easy and tastes marvelous. The cake is super moist, my family loved it and it was gone before I knew it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
positively a winner! the only thing i did was use a whole container of the sour cream. i don't live in the states and where i am, sometimes there's just a little bit left so i used the rest of it. everyone loved it. it was easier to just sprinkle the sugar/nut mixture as it didn't have anything to bind it together. but i used the same ingredients and followed the recipe. wonderful with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This isn't as sweet and fluffy as I am used to with my mom's old recipe. I think I have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very delicious. Like other reviewers, I added a full cup of sour cream as well as 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. In addition, I used brown sugar and substitued pecans for walnuts for the filling. It was very moist and baked perfectly in 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Wonderful. Made it for my boyfriend's family and they love me even more than before. :) I put some of the crunchy goodness on the bottom of the pan too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish506

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great recipe. I used Pecans instead of walnuts. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought this was just ok. The cake was a little on the dry side for a sour cream cake. I have another coffee cake recipe that the cake is more moist. In the future I will use that cake and this filling for a cinnamon flavored coffee cake. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I am always asked to make this. Its very moist and delicious. I end up using only about 1/2 of the sugar mixture because its just too sweet for my tastes....but it doesnt change the moist delicious cake one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States