Sour Cream Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Nice! I chose this recipe because it was relatively lean compared to the other coffee cakes on this site. It turned out very moist and flavorful, although a little dense. Looking at the structure of the cake though, it seemed a little denser on the bottom than the top, which leads me to believe that the density had to do with the temperature of the ingredients. I will try next time with all room-temp ingredients and see if it makes a difference (I used eggs and sour cream straight from the fridge this time). The cake was baked in a silicone bundt pan that had been crisco-ed and floured, and slipped out easily after 45 minutes of cooling. I too noticed the lack of salt, and added 3/4 tsp of salt to add dimension. Also reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cups and thought it was the perfect amount of sweetness - I like coffee cake but find most bakery versions much too sweet. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Recipe was good... a tad dry at 45 min for me. I wish I'd waited longer before trying to remove from the pan (my fault) because it split... Luckily the glaze I put on coverd most of the cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Delicious and easy, my 2 favorite things in any recipe! I had a bag a cinnamon chips on hand so I used them instead of the cinnamon/sugar mixture, and mixed just 1 cup of them in to the 2nd 1/2 of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I did not like this recipe at all. Very dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I have to add a little tip after making this every other week for probably 5 years...Do not sit the butter in the room any more than 15 mins. Butter need to be firm/cold to retain air. I always thought room temperature butter is the best to work with for baking. Please work with cold butter!!! I guarantee the out come would be way better. *********** This is soooo my favorite. I've made this so many times. I like it a little less sweet, so I reduce white sugar to 3/4 cup. I've tried 1/2 cup and it came out a bit dry. And fat free sour cream makes it a bit dry too. So, stick with the regular sour cream. Also, I’ve tried few different baking pans, but I found baking in a 10 inch tube pan makes it the moistest cake. Of course Bundt cake looks pretty, but I take the taste over the looks. Yum. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I made this for a Christmas party at my boyfriend's. Because he didn't have a bundt pan, I made it in a bread pan, which obviously would make thorough cooking more difficult. I cooked it almost completely, took it out, cut down the middle, covered it with parchment paper so it wouldn't burn, and then finished baking it. It turned out great, a perfect texture to it. I did a glaze on it, and then dribbled chocolate over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I did like the basic recipe, but changed the finish a bit. I made them into jumbo muffins and omitted the icing. Instead, I used two tablespoons butter, one tablespoon cinnamon and three tablespoons flour. I mashed these together with a fork until crumbly. Sprinkle on top, and my friends chowed them! I'll make them again, especially in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Running Elk

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pine Ridge, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Slana, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
AWESOME came out perfect....I added a chocolate marble to it with melted milk chocolate squares....and a chocolate glaze drizzle...looked at good as it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
The cake was a huge hit at church this morning. I made it as directed, except that I added salt to the batter (I used unsalted butter, so it needed salt somewhere) and added 1/4 cup golden raisins and 1/4 cup chopped pecans to the filling in the middle. I used lowfat sour cream instead of full fat. I agree that the addition of brown sugar makes the cake look a little brown (when I saw it cut up on the tray after I came out of the service, I thought it looked kind of dark), but the flavor that it adds is essential, I think. Easy to make, and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Very good and easy to make! I increased the vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp., doubled the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture (adding a dash of nutmeg), reduced the milk in the glaze and added cinnamon to the glaze. My husband really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States