Sour Cream Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I'm not sure what happened here...made exactly as written. Cake came out with a good flavor, but was heavy, dense, and extremely greasy. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I'd never made a coffee cake before, and this turned out just great! Very moist, flavorful, and pretty easy to whip together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good - I was out of vanilla so I used almond extract and put some sliced almond in the filling. The cake recipe is wonderful - perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I literally created an AllRecipes account to praise this coffee cake! It is absolutely wonderful. It goes together in no time and is super delicious. You can use any sour cream, even that tub in the back that's accidentally gotten frozen. My one tip is this: under no circumstances should you let the cinnamon filling touch the pan! Make a little rut all around the batter, carefully spoon in the cinnamon mixture, and carefully dollop the remaining batter on top. There should always be dough in between the cinnamon and the pan, or patches will stick to the pan when you turn the cake out. I LOVE this cake and I've made it 4 times now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
WOW this was great. I was looking for something simple that I could make for Christmas morning. The recipe was very simple and tasted great. Everyone loved it. I had a bit of trouble with the glaze - maybe it would be better to add less water - so glaze does not end up on the plate - but I scooped it uo and put it back on top till it cooled a bit. Otherwise no complaints. Looks and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nags Head, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This cake is really delicious. I picked this as I am having a bare pantry issue and had all the ingredients. There are only a few very minor issues for me 1) the way the ingredients are listed are kind of "scattered", they aren't listed in order of use if that makes since. I was worried I was going to forget to add something, 2) it's a smaller cake, my bundt came out half full but I was ok w/ that because it didn't use up all my ingredients in the house 3) batter was very thick making it hard to spread in the pan. Otherwise this was very good and will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Moist and fabulous! Didn't even need the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I think this cake is delicious! It doesn't need the glaze or candy sprinkles. It is moist and flavorful enough on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very moist, I received many compliments, The best coffee cake I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Pretty good. I liked the ribbon of sugar and cinnamon in the middle. A bit dry, though. Probably best if consumed same day as baking. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the icing, which I only made half of (more than enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States