Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I'm not a big fan of this one. Can't quite put my finger on it - is it that I prefer frosting with more butter, or is it less sugar? (essentially the same difference) I ended up playing with this quite a bit until I was reasonably satisifed with it, both in terms of texture as well as consistency. There are SO many great chocolate frostings on this site - unfortunately this was not one of them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was really easy to make, however it was really sweet. Would recommend not using as much sugar. I had alot of frosting left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I reduced the sugar by about a cup as suggested by others. Had no sour cream so I used plain non-fat yogurt. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Reduced sugar by 3/4 cup. Added 1/4 tsp. Cocoa powder and 1/4 cup chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect!! The tang of the sour cream is the perfect contrast to the sweetness of the confectioners' sugar. This is great on yellow or chocolate cake. We loved this recipe, and will be using it again and again!! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This frosting was absolutely delicious! The only thing I changed was I added an additional 1/2 ounce of unsweetened chocolate to give it just a little boost of extra chocolate flavor. It's so smooth and silky. It was a perfect compliment to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by periwinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
easy to make, excellent creamy chocolate flavor! Stays moist, easy to spread...so much better than any canned frosting, takes just afew minutes to put together, and you don't have a long list of chemicals and artificial ingredients!! A winner in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made it the way Lavender Lady suggested and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is a most delicious frosting--not too sweet and great consistency. The first time I made it, I followed instructions exactly as written and everyone enjoyed it. The second time I made it, I only had 1/2 cup of semisweet chocolate chips so for the other 1/2 cup I used the cinnamon morsels and added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder because I only had almost 2 1/2 cups of confectionery sugar in my pantry. It turned out with the same consistency as the original recipe and was just as delicious. I frosted a 9" 2-layer zucchini pecan cake and had plenty of frosting with a bit left over. I used the extra frosting on graham crackers as a treat for my grandson. Thanks Mary Beth for sharing your recipe. It is now part of my "keeper" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oriskany, New York, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
great recipe but way too much sugar. i only added 1 cup of confectioners sugar and it's just fine. i can't imagine adding almost 2 more cups. but other than that it's easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States