Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this recipe EXACTLY as it said. It wasn't too sweet, the consistency was perfect and It spread nicely. The only thing different is it is a much darker 'looking' frosting than this picture shows. I think the sour cream gave it a nice gleam, texture and it definitely wasn't as chocolate tasting as a recipe without sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Used 3T cocoa powder and 3T special dark cocoa powder. Decreased powdered sugar but then it was too runny. Added a half package of special dark instant chocolate pudding to thicken up. SUPER FUDGY. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I just made this and have to say it is very easy to make. Very creamy. I liked it, but didn't love it. I guess I wasn't expecting the tanginess from the sour cream to stand out so much. But is was a nice change and may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Pretty darn good! Made it with "Crazy Cake" and the two together were a hit. Only four stars because I could do with more tang, and I had to fiddle a bit to get a consistency I could decorate with (added milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I used a 70% cacao chocolate bar that I grated, and melted with my butter, and I used baker's sugar with tapioca as a corn free version of this frosting. It was slightly grainy, but it had a decadent taste that was perfect with the "Dinette Cake" recipe elsewhere on this site. I put fresh raspberries on top of my old fashioned white cake with sour cream and dark chocolate frosting. My guests raved over the retro 1950's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is my favourite chocolate frosting recipe, I don't like basic buttercreams as they are too rich and a little greasy to me but this one is nice enough to eat with a spoon. The chocolate I used had 72% cocoa solids (I chopped up a bar) and I just added the sugar bit by bit until I liked the consistency and taste so this recipe wasn't too sweet for me. If I had to guess I'd say I used about half of the amount of powdered sugar. This one is a keeper in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilgoodi
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Rich and creamy with a little tang. I like the depth of flavor the sour cream adds - not just all sugar flavor. I made for a batch of yellow cake cupcakes and it was perfect. Because not everyone likes the tanginess of a sour cream frosting, I added little bits of bacon to match with the flavor. Perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Easy and goes perfectly with my hot pepper brownies! Was afraid of consistancy at first but after a few minutes it cooled more and set up nicely. Was able to pipe. Everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The first time I didn't let the chocolate cool enough I think. Was very thick. So, the next time, I listened to the other viewers and I added 1 extra tablespoon of butter to the chocolate chips. Then I let cool. Then I added a splash of almond extract to the mix with the vanilla. I gradually added powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time while keeping track. I actually liked it's consistency at 3 cups. It was delicious! My son even requested it for the next cake! I'm not using store bought anymore! This was quite easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My new favorite frosting! I tried on a whim and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States