Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This is easily the best chocolate frosting recipe I have ever tried. I put it in my Kitchen Aid mixer for a just a few minutes and it was light, creamy, rich and chocolate-y. This will turn any cake into a delight! My guests asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This turned out excellent for me. I stopped adding confectioner's sugar at 2 cups and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This turned out great! I used only about 2 cups of icing sugar. I didn't have any choc. chips, so I used 4 squares of unsweetened bakers chocolate. Great!!! I used this on a oatmeal cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Wow! This was so good. I wasn't to sure about using the sour cream, but wow it tasted good!I will use this again (and again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This frosting was delicious, and easy to make. I substituted a bar of my favorite semi-sweet chocolate (chopped up) that I had on hand for the chocolate chips, and it worked beautifully. I will make this again, next time I need frosting for a cake, or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Recipe was so easy...my husband was craving cake and I needed to find a quick easy chocolate frosting recipe. he loved it and couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
New twist to chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISA L
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is a great chocolate frosting. Not too sweet and easy to make. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is quick and easy! It is a little after 9:30pm on a Friday night and my girls wanted cake!!! So I whipped up a vanilla box mix and needed an easy frosting. I substituted Hersheys milk choc. candy bars (left over from Easter), chopped to equal 1 cup. It gave it a rich milk choc. flavor. I used a different mixing method; mix 1.5 C. Powdered sugar w/ s. cream + vanilla. Then add melted choc./butter mix (not cooled) and continue to add p. sugar until desired consistancy. It is creamy smooth, easy to spread and has great flavor! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States