Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Frosting turned out well. I added 2 cups of powdered sugar and it worked for my tastes, not too sweet but not too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Very yummy...loved the bit of 'tang' from the sour cream! I scaled this recipe down as I only needed enough to frost Humungous Cookies, from AR too. I didn't actually frost, but rather 'wrote on' the big cookies. Super easy to make and it set up nicely as writing on my cookies! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Super easy and delicious. I used only 1 cup of powdered sugar and added cayenne pepper since I love the contrast between spicy and sweet. Used this on 12 cupcakes and had enough frosting left over for 12 more. Thanks Mary Beth for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this tonight to top a basic chocolate cake. It was really easy and really good! I loved that the frosting was creamy and easy to spread. I am not a fan of the typical buttercream frosting. I thought this was much better. I did cut down on the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I revised the recipe to include a little heavy cream and then added some extra powdered sugar -- beating with a mixer until it was the right consistency for frosting. The flavor was good. I added one tbls. of cocoa powder when I melted the butter and chocolate chips together. Next time I might add 2 tbls. of cocoa powder to boost the chocolate flavor a little more. With my changes, I had enough frosting to GENEROUSLY frost 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agoodman5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was one of the best frostings I have ever eaten! My family absolutely loved it too. I followed other reviewers' advice and omitted some of the sugar and added a teaspoon of cocoa and some heavy cream. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This frosting was easy to make, was tasty - not too sweet and not too chocolaty. I was able to add more powdered sugar to increase consistency. I absolutely loved it - will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Yum! Great recipe. Used margarine instead of butter. I agree that this is a tangy frosting, not too sweet as another reviewer thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is a good basic frosting recipe. I did cut back on the powdered sugar as suggested by others, but I think I cut back to far. I put this on a dark chocolate box cake and while it did have the "tang" I should have added just a touch more sugar, but still good flavor. I did sift the sugar. Nice consistency. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States