Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is an OMG recipe!!! Excellent and delicious. I used non fat yogurt...lower in calories. That's almost a joke when making this recipe, but any calories you can save is worth it! This is absolutely delicious! It's my favorite chocolate icing now! No need to alter a thing. Just enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Really good frosting! Used it to top a new eclair recipe that I tried...worked perfectly! I used sugar free chocolate chips and next time I am going to mess around with healthier options for the powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Best frosting EVER. I only used 2 cups of powdered sugar. It was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJ
Home Town: Sauk Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I had high hopes for this frosting, and while it is beautiful - I found it far too sweet and it tasted pretty much like chocolate chips with powdered sugar to me. Perhaps with some modifications I'd like it more, but if I do try it again, I'm likely to use cocoa or bakers chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This made an amazing frosting. I added a bit of cocoa to the mix and used a little less sour cream. The consistency was creamy and yet it actually piped well on the cupcakes. I use sweet cream butter, it holds up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I made this recipe exact, and I have to say I'm not impressed. Too sour creamy, sweet, and very chocolaty. No offense, not bad, just not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Foster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Imade this cake with and without the. Chocolate chips, and both ways were delicious. I also made it in a cup cake form, and I think it was too oily for that, as the holders for the cake were very greasy for the kids to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Delicious, creamy chocolate frosting. It was the perfect topping for" Kristin's Fudgy Brownies" on this site. This made more than I needed for a 13 x 9 pan so I used the extra frosting between graham cracker squares. Yum! Thanks Mary Beth for sharing your frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Perfect! I followed the directions and ingredients exactly and it came out so delicious, smooth and silky. As for those who had a problem with it being "gritty", maybe try using a rubber spatula to mix it like I did. Adding the powdered sugar gradually as directed, I kept smacking the #$@% out of it until it was smooth before adding more. I will use this recipe again, just as it is, PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Great frosting! I got a delicious grunt from my husband as he was licking the beaters. That's a good thing!!! This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States