Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is a most delicious frosting--not too sweet and great consistency. The first time I made it, I followed instructions exactly as written and everyone enjoyed it. The second time I made it, I only had 1/2 cup of semisweet chocolate chips so for the other 1/2 cup I used the cinnamon morsels and added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder because I only had almost 2 1/2 cups of confectionery sugar in my pantry. It turned out with the same consistency as the original recipe and was just as delicious. I frosted a 9" 2-layer zucchini pecan cake and had plenty of frosting with a bit left over. I used the extra frosting on graham crackers as a treat for my grandson. Thanks Mary Beth for sharing your recipe. It is now part of my "keeper" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oriskany, New York, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
great recipe but way too much sugar. i only added 1 cup of confectioners sugar and it's just fine. i can't imagine adding almost 2 more cups. but other than that it's easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I followed this exactly and I loved it. It tastes almost like fudge. I don't give 5 stars to a recipe unless it wowed me, and this really did! I would say that it has the potential to get dry and crumbly if left out, so be sure to seal in an airtight container or serve promptly. I used it on cupcakes made from Dark Chocolate Cake I by Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Easy to follow and make. My cupcakes were frosted start-to-finish in 45 minutes flat! (even with a mini helper) It was perfectly sweetened (not too sweet, not too bitter) and I put it on top of the One Bowl Chocolate Cake recipe found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Great recipe! I always looked for a chocolate frosting that did not get hard. This is the one. I too cut back on the sugar but it was creamy and awesome. Has a definite subtle bite with the sour cream, but a pleasant experience. Very versatile icing as well...decorating or just frosting a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This frosting is yum, yum yummy! I made it with all the ingredients, just as instructed and it tasted great! My only problem was the consistency: no matter how long I beat it, it would not stiffen up. This may have been my fault, however, as I did not let the chocolate/butter mixture cool very much before adding the remaining ingredients. Will be more careful to do that when I make it again, and I WILL make it again! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Just made this frosting to frost a yellow butter cake. I followed other reviewer suggestions and cut back the sifted powdered sugar to 2 cups and I added 1 tsp. instant coffee. I love the hint of coffee and the sour cream gives it a nice tang but I still find it to be quite sweet. It made my teeth tingle a little :-)) It is very chocolatey and rich on its own so hopefully tasting it on cake may tone it down a bit, Overall, very delicious and creamy. I'd make it again for the ease of it alone. I might try mixing the semi-sweet with some other types of chocolate to change it up now and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Love this - I prefer less sweet, so only add 1 cup of conf. sugar. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
goes GREAT with black magic cake recipe by marsha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This indeed the best chocolate filling i had ever taste, it is balanced, and you even can adjust the sweetness by sugar and chocolate ( you might use dark chocolate for bitter, richer taste) I have used this reciepe for my baby 1st birthday cake, but used it as a filling only and it was awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by da.princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States