Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Reduced sugar by 3/4 cup. Added 1/4 tsp. Cocoa powder and 1/4 cup chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect!! The tang of the sour cream is the perfect contrast to the sweetness of the confectioners' sugar. This is great on yellow or chocolate cake. We loved this recipe, and will be using it again and again!! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This frosting was absolutely delicious! The only thing I changed was I added an additional 1/2 ounce of unsweetened chocolate to give it just a little boost of extra chocolate flavor. It's so smooth and silky. It was a perfect compliment to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by periwinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
easy to make, excellent creamy chocolate flavor! Stays moist, easy to spread...so much better than any canned frosting, takes just afew minutes to put together, and you don't have a long list of chemicals and artificial ingredients!! A winner in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made it the way Lavender Lady suggested and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is a most delicious frosting--not too sweet and great consistency. The first time I made it, I followed instructions exactly as written and everyone enjoyed it. The second time I made it, I only had 1/2 cup of semisweet chocolate chips so for the other 1/2 cup I used the cinnamon morsels and added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder because I only had almost 2 1/2 cups of confectionery sugar in my pantry. It turned out with the same consistency as the original recipe and was just as delicious. I frosted a 9" 2-layer zucchini pecan cake and had plenty of frosting with a bit left over. I used the extra frosting on graham crackers as a treat for my grandson. Thanks Mary Beth for sharing your recipe. It is now part of my "keeper" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oriskany, New York, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
great recipe but way too much sugar. i only added 1 cup of confectioners sugar and it's just fine. i can't imagine adding almost 2 more cups. but other than that it's easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I followed this exactly and I loved it. It tastes almost like fudge. I don't give 5 stars to a recipe unless it wowed me, and this really did! I would say that it has the potential to get dry and crumbly if left out, so be sure to seal in an airtight container or serve promptly. I used it on cupcakes made from Dark Chocolate Cake I by Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Easy to follow and make. My cupcakes were frosted start-to-finish in 45 minutes flat! (even with a mini helper) It was perfectly sweetened (not too sweet, not too bitter) and I put it on top of the One Bowl Chocolate Cake recipe found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Great recipe! I always looked for a chocolate frosting that did not get hard. This is the one. I too cut back on the sugar but it was creamy and awesome. Has a definite subtle bite with the sour cream, but a pleasant experience. Very versatile icing as well...decorating or just frosting a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States