Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
excellent frosting - I added coconut chips and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was o.k. It was too loose to pipe. The flavor was very sweet and a little odd (not chocolate or sour cream, but a weird in between taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Like another user, I used cocoa powder and 3/4 cup of butter, this frosting is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe was perfect as is. Used a double broiler to melt the chocolate and butter then mixed everything together in the kitchen aid - so smooth and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Not good. This is a horrible sweet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimshan13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this last night as frosting for a Boston cream cake. I made it with plain yogurt instead, as others had suggested and cut way back on the confectioners sugar too. I found it to be a little tart so next time I will try the recipe exactly as written instead. As a note for others trying this recipe, the amount of confectioners sugar used will also be reflected in the consistency of your frosting - because I had used less sugar, when the frosting cooled it also hardened making it more difficult and messy to cut thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Delicious on Banana cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Flumerfelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I'm not a big fan of this one. Can't quite put my finger on it - is it that I prefer frosting with more butter, or is it less sugar? (essentially the same difference) I ended up playing with this quite a bit until I was reasonably satisifed with it, both in terms of texture as well as consistency. There are SO many great chocolate frostings on this site - unfortunately this was not one of them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was really easy to make, however it was really sweet. Would recommend not using as much sugar. I had alot of frosting left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I reduced the sugar by about a cup as suggested by others. Had no sour cream so I used plain non-fat yogurt. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States