Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My new favorite frosting! I tried on a whim and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I totally enjoyed this recipe! I cut down on the ingredients and it still frosted 9×13 in cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I live in bush Alaska where a can of frosting is nearly $10. This recipe is wonderful. For a deeper chocolate flavor I added 2 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder. I made a white frosting, using white chips and it was outstanding. I added a 1/4 tsp orange extract and reduce vanilla to 3/4 tsp. I did reduce the powdered sugar by 3/4 cup when I was frosting a cake but found a needed a stiffer frosting for cupcakes and used the full amount. It held its shape for a long time. This is now a favorite in Stebbins, Alaska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great. Easy. Didn't use a huge amount of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
excellent frosting - I added coconut chips and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was o.k. It was too loose to pipe. The flavor was very sweet and a little odd (not chocolate or sour cream, but a weird in between taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Like another user, I used cocoa powder and 3/4 cup of butter, this frosting is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe was perfect as is. Used a double broiler to melt the chocolate and butter then mixed everything together in the kitchen aid - so smooth and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Not good. This is a horrible sweet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimshan13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this last night as frosting for a Boston cream cake. I made it with plain yogurt instead, as others had suggested and cut way back on the confectioners sugar too. I found it to be a little tart so next time I will try the recipe exactly as written instead. As a note for others trying this recipe, the amount of confectioners sugar used will also be reflected in the consistency of your frosting - because I had used less sugar, when the frosting cooled it also hardened making it more difficult and messy to cut thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States