Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This frosting was unbelievable! The recipe yielded enough frosting to fill and frost a 9X13 cake cut in half and stacked into two layers. I was pleasantly surprised at how nicely it firmed up, in the fridge, while remaining creamy. We could not stop eating it. I even substituted fat free sour cream to lighten it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
For taste, it would get a 5, consistency 3. Im having a hard time finding a good tasting, easily spread (for decorators) frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is a really good, creamy, rich frosting recipe, but I found it a bit sweet. I didn't end up adding all of the powdered sugar either...probably more like 2 1/4 cups. It has a wonderful taste, a tiny bit of tang, but plenty of richness from the sour cream. I think I'll be making this again, but I might just substitute some unsweetened chocolate for some of the chocolate chips, or perhaps add some cocoa along with (or instead of!) some of the powdered sugar. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it is very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I like it! However, I didn't even need to use that much sugar (it's atrocious). I used 1/4 cups sugar and it tasted perfect and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Out of this world delicious. Did not use all the powdered sugar as I prefer my frosting not-so-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I followed the directions to a T...really loved this recipe. It's my new go-to chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allysmith2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This recipe as written is great for people who like "bakery" style buttercreams that are crazy sweet. We don't, so like another reviewer I used about 1/2 - 2/3 the sugar called for, and used 3/4 cup semisweet and 1/4 cup UNSWEETENED chocolate. Made the richest, most delicious frosting! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is bar none the best frosting I ever made. I used bittersweet chips and added orange zest. Yikesahootie!! Wonderful, delicious, incredible...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellent - not too sweet! Will be the chocolate frosting of choice in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is positively my new favorite chocolate frosting. So very good and have received many compliments on this frosting. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States