Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
If you like chocolate you should definitely like this. It was easy and tasted darned good, too! There was plenty to frost 2 9 inch cakes. No skimping here. Made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This frosting was fabulous! However, I tasted it after adding only 2 cups of sugar and liked it better and wished I hadn't added the last 3/4 c. The last 3/4 c. made it too sweet and you couldn't taste the tang of the sour cream. Will definitely use this recipe again, but with the modification of only adding 2 c. sugar. (Also, I learned that you shouldn't chill this frosting or it will set up too thick and you'll have to soften it in the microwave for a few seconds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Wonderfully easy with great consistency. Super rich and creamy. This frosting also does great after freezing. I had stored the left-overs in the freezer and then took them out to frost some cupcakes I'd made on the fly one weekend. The consistency was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Auld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I absolutely love this frosting! The consistency was nice and firm, yet still fluffy. I really like the tang from the sour cream - added just enough flavor to make this frosting special. The only reason I didn't give the frosting 5 stars is because I altered the type of chocolate used - I used 3 squares of bakers chocolate instead of the chips. I did this because of the reviews stating that the frosting was too sweet. I wanted a big batch of frosting, so I wanted to use all of the sugar. With this substitution, I thought the flavor was perfect - not too sweet and not too bitter. I will use this recipe (with modification) over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Delicious! Like others I used less sugar, probably about 2 cups. Sooooo good on the chocolate cupcakes I made. I will definitely be using this again and again for birthday cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This frosting was unbelievable! The recipe yielded enough frosting to fill and frost a 9X13 cake cut in half and stacked into two layers. I was pleasantly surprised at how nicely it firmed up, in the fridge, while remaining creamy. We could not stop eating it. I even substituted fat free sour cream to lighten it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
For taste, it would get a 5, consistency 3. Im having a hard time finding a good tasting, easily spread (for decorators) frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is a really good, creamy, rich frosting recipe, but I found it a bit sweet. I didn't end up adding all of the powdered sugar either...probably more like 2 1/4 cups. It has a wonderful taste, a tiny bit of tang, but plenty of richness from the sour cream. I think I'll be making this again, but I might just substitute some unsweetened chocolate for some of the chocolate chips, or perhaps add some cocoa along with (or instead of!) some of the powdered sugar. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it is very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I like it! However, I didn't even need to use that much sugar (it's atrocious). I used 1/4 cups sugar and it tasted perfect and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States