Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Pretty darn good! Made it with "Crazy Cake" and the two together were a hit. Only four stars because I could do with more tang, and I had to fiddle a bit to get a consistency I could decorate with (added milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I used a 70% cacao chocolate bar that I grated, and melted with my butter, and I used baker's sugar with tapioca as a corn free version of this frosting. It was slightly grainy, but it had a decadent taste that was perfect with the "Dinette Cake" recipe elsewhere on this site. I put fresh raspberries on top of my old fashioned white cake with sour cream and dark chocolate frosting. My guests raved over the retro 1950's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is my favourite chocolate frosting recipe, I don't like basic buttercreams as they are too rich and a little greasy to me but this one is nice enough to eat with a spoon. The chocolate I used had 72% cocoa solids (I chopped up a bar) and I just added the sugar bit by bit until I liked the consistency and taste so this recipe wasn't too sweet for me. If I had to guess I'd say I used about half of the amount of powdered sugar. This one is a keeper in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilgoodi
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Rich and creamy with a little tang. I like the depth of flavor the sour cream adds - not just all sugar flavor. I made for a batch of yellow cake cupcakes and it was perfect. Because not everyone likes the tanginess of a sour cream frosting, I added little bits of bacon to match with the flavor. Perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Easy and goes perfectly with my hot pepper brownies! Was afraid of consistancy at first but after a few minutes it cooled more and set up nicely. Was able to pipe. Everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The first time I didn't let the chocolate cool enough I think. Was very thick. So, the next time, I listened to the other viewers and I added 1 extra tablespoon of butter to the chocolate chips. Then I let cool. Then I added a splash of almond extract to the mix with the vanilla. I gradually added powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time while keeping track. I actually liked it's consistency at 3 cups. It was delicious! My son even requested it for the next cake! I'm not using store bought anymore! This was quite easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My new favorite frosting! I tried on a whim and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I totally enjoyed this recipe! I cut down on the ingredients and it still frosted 9×13 in cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I live in bush Alaska where a can of frosting is nearly $10. This recipe is wonderful. For a deeper chocolate flavor I added 2 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder. I made a white frosting, using white chips and it was outstanding. I added a 1/4 tsp orange extract and reduce vanilla to 3/4 tsp. I did reduce the powdered sugar by 3/4 cup when I was frosting a cake but found a needed a stiffer frosting for cupcakes and used the full amount. It held its shape for a long time. This is now a favorite in Stebbins, Alaska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great. Easy. Didn't use a huge amount of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States