Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
My family loved this cake. I am not a chocolate chip fan but I liked this recipe because it was easy to make, no frosting is required or desired(makes it easy to transport in bag lunches or for picnic lunches). "Cake in the hand",no fork required! Do not forget to add the vanilla that is mentioned in the ingredients but neglected in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This was a quick and easy recipe. I used a 11x7 pan, and mixed semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips, then sprinkled with powdered sugar after baking. I didn't make any adjustments to baking time and it was perfect. Great snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
It came out quite well, like a tasty coffee cake. I made it with half chocolate chips and half butterscotch, and it was brilliant. However, I did have to bake it at least 15 minutes more than the specified time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Well, I bake alot but for some reason when the recipe called for a 9 in pan, I used a 9 in round pan, what a mess in the oven, next time I will realize that the pan is too full...just one of those days for me........BUT the rest of the cake that stayed in the pan was great, deformed, but wonderful taste. Thanks a bunch...hope everyone else has better luck then I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarence, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
this cake was *very* easy and turned out fabulous. perfect with coffee. i dusted the top with a little powdered sugar to give it a finished look, but honestly, it didn't even need it. it's just sweet enough, but not over the top - perfect. i will definitely make this one again! and as to the extra 15 minutes of cooking time that others said it needed.. it ended up done for me in a little less than the 30 minutes alotted, but i use the heavy dark colored bakeware which may have contributed to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Great. Moist. Spongy. Not too sweet, but perfect amount of chocolate. Don't forget to add the vanilla to the wet mixture. I used low fat sour cream and it worked out wonderfully. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this cake to serve with coffee after our Christmas Eve meal. It was great! It was the perfect ending to a big meal - not too sugary sweet. I got lots of compliments. It's not a "pretty" cake, so I pre-sliced it into rectangles & served it with a dollop of freshly made, barely sweetened whipped cream. I will definitely be making this cake again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
My 5 year old daughter was home from school sick and wanted to make a chocolate chip cake....found this recipe and followed the advice of some other readers. I did not add any extra chocolate chips, cooked it the extra 15 minutes, added a little cinnamon and dusted the top with powered sugar. I also used margarine because I didn't have any butter on hand...came out perfect...very easy and very good. My whole family loved it. Thanks for sharing and all the tips....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Really good flavor. But I agree with the others that it needs extra baking time. Also, I added extra chocolate chips but I wouldn't do that next time because when they baked, they ended up as melty globs of chocolate instead of individual bits. Too much chocolate can't be bad, but it does affect the resulting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I really liked this recipe, very moist and yummy! I did modify it though! 1/4 c margarine 1/2 c sugar 1 egg 1 c fat free sour cream 1 tsp baking soda 2 tsps baking powder 3/4 c all purpose flour 3/4 c whole wheat flour 2 tsps vanilla 1 tsp cinnamon 1 c dark chocolate chips Did all the steps the same, added about 1/2 cup buttermilk since it was too thick and previous reviews had complained about dryness. baked in a large loaf pan for 55 minutes Was a huge hit for our coffee break! *** made it again using blueberries and substituting 1/2 sour cream with blueberry yogurt, needed to add milk since was batter was really thick, baked 35 minutes in a bundt pan, made lemon glaze really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States