Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Well, the birthday girl loved this but I thought it was just so-so. My chief complaint was that it was somewhat dry for such rich ingredients. I made a crumb topping so that it would resemble coffee cake but next time I'll stick to cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
My 5 year old daughter was home from school sick and wanted to make a chocolate chip cake....found this recipe and followed the advice of some other readers. I did not add any extra chocolate chips, cooked it the extra 15 minutes, added a little cinnamon and dusted the top with powered sugar. I also used margarine because I didn't have any butter on hand...came out perfect...very easy and very good. My whole family loved it. Thanks for sharing and all the tips....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
this cake was *very* easy and turned out fabulous. perfect with coffee. i dusted the top with a little powdered sugar to give it a finished look, but honestly, it didn't even need it. it's just sweet enough, but not over the top - perfect. i will definitely make this one again! and as to the extra 15 minutes of cooking time that others said it needed.. it ended up done for me in a little less than the 30 minutes alotted, but i use the heavy dark colored bakeware which may have contributed to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Really good flavor. But I agree with the others that it needs extra baking time. Also, I added extra chocolate chips but I wouldn't do that next time because when they baked, they ended up as melty globs of chocolate instead of individual bits. Too much chocolate can't be bad, but it does affect the resulting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
My husband and his coworkers said this is the best cake ever. I topped it with the cinnamon sugar which was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This cake is wonderful! It's easy, and great for the kids to help with. It's nice and light, with no icing, perfect for summertime. My mother asks me to make it constantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is a great quick, easy recipe that tastes great too!! My husband and company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Moist, yummy and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
wow! what an easy cake to make. brought the dry ingredients premixed in a tupperware to my boyfriend's house and made the rest of the cake there. incredible! he loved it and he's a critical chocolate freak. agree that i had to cook it 15 minutes longer. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
Really great recipe! I added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon for added flavor and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States