Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
YUMMY! This was a perfect cake to make with my 2 1/2 year old daughter. It was easy since we didn't have to ice it. And it was WONDERFUL! I would even love it without the chocolate chips. It was very moist and yummy. I sprinkled the top with sugar and cinnamon. We couldn't stop at one piece. Our family ate the entire cake in 2 days. Oh boy.. definitely will be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I made all sorts of substitutions (used egg beaters, Splenda, reduced calorie margarine and fat free sour cream) and it was STILL wonderful. A tad spongy but the flavor was very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this cake to serve with coffee after our Christmas Eve meal. It was great! It was the perfect ending to a big meal - not too sugary sweet. I got lots of compliments. It's not a "pretty" cake, so I pre-sliced it into rectangles & served it with a dollop of freshly made, barely sweetened whipped cream. I will definitely be making this cake again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Kinda dense and heavy, but I like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This was a quick and easy recipe. I used a 11x7 pan, and mixed semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips, then sprinkled with powdered sugar after baking. I didn't make any adjustments to baking time and it was perfect. Great snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
My family loved this cake. I am not a chocolate chip fan but I liked this recipe because it was easy to make, no frosting is required or desired(makes it easy to transport in bag lunches or for picnic lunches). "Cake in the hand",no fork required! Do not forget to add the vanilla that is mentioned in the ingredients but neglected in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was such a delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This cake has a sponge cake like texture -- very light. I used a square 9" pan, baked it for 30 mins, used 1/2 c. mini choc chips as I didn't have the reg chips on hand, made it plain (no cinn-sugar topping) and the cake came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Well, I bake alot but for some reason when the recipe called for a 9 in pan, I used a 9 in round pan, what a mess in the oven, next time I will realize that the pan is too full...just one of those days for me........BUT the rest of the cake that stayed in the pan was great, deformed, but wonderful taste. Thanks a bunch...hope everyone else has better luck then I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarence, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States