Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was a tasty snack finger food cake, but must cook longer than specified time. I used a 9x9 inch pan as recipe stated and after 30 min it was still very, very liquidy in the center. So, cooked 30 minutes more, but lightly covered top with aluminum foil the second half hour so that it would not overly brown (or burn) the top. My choc chips did sink to the bottom and I only used 3/4 cup of them. Like other reviewers idea for using the mini choc chips --not so heavy. Also, I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter and loved the aroma as it was cooking! If you want a delicious pastry with chocolate chips you may want to try the chocolate chip cinnamon rolls on this website. They were fantastic and achieved a similar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Fabulous! I doubled the recipe and made this cake in a bundt pan. It needed to be baked for almost an hour due to the amount of batter. After I took it out to cool, I made a mixture of confectioner's sugar and milk and drizzled it over top of the bundt while it was still warm. It drips down the side, then I top it with a sprinkling of extra chocolate chips. It makes for a beautiful presentation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I have made this twice now, and it's definitely a keeper. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, because I prefer baked goods not too sweet. I found that 45 minutes was perfect for baking time. I've tried this with 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, and it works out well too. So easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
it's good. my first from-scratch cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: North Salem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I really liked this recipe, very moist and yummy! I did modify it though! 1/4 c margarine 1/2 c sugar 1 egg 1 c fat free sour cream 1 tsp baking soda 2 tsps baking powder 3/4 c all purpose flour 3/4 c whole wheat flour 2 tsps vanilla 1 tsp cinnamon 1 c dark chocolate chips Did all the steps the same, added about 1/2 cup buttermilk since it was too thick and previous reviews had complained about dryness. baked in a large loaf pan for 55 minutes Was a huge hit for our coffee break! *** made it again using blueberries and substituting 1/2 sour cream with blueberry yogurt, needed to add milk since was batter was really thick, baked 35 minutes in a bundt pan, made lemon glaze really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
YUMMY! It makes a nice dense cake - not crumbly at all. I used a 9 inch square cake pan and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This cake was good. Next time, I will put 3/4 cup of chocolate chip instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I didn't especially like this cake, but others did. It could have used an icing. I sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, and it needed to be dusted with powdered sugar. The chocolate chips sunk to the bottom of the cake. I doubled the recipe and cooked in a 9x11. Made it for a b-day of a coworker, and all the guys at the factory ate it up. It was a little dry and needed a bit more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I think this would've been really good, but it never cooked in the middle. I cooked it for 35 min. and it was still liquid in the middle. I would've left it in longer but it was getting pretty dark on top. The edges were good, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Kase Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Great. Moist. Spongy. Not too sweet, but perfect amount of chocolate. Don't forget to add the vanilla to the wet mixture. I used low fat sour cream and it worked out wonderfully. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States