Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is an excellent cake. It is very rich and doesn't need any icing if you use the chocolate chips. I used this recipe without the chocolate chips when I made my daughter's birthday cake. It is better than store bought cake. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
great recipe, love having sour cream in desserts, always makes it light and fluffy, would be good with a little carob powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great, simple cake, quick to make and dense and moist. Like others, I had to bake it for more than 40 minutes in my 9x9, so I covered with foil after 30 minutes to prevent it from getting too dark. The first time I had only 1/3 cup sour cream and rounded that out with 2/3 cup FF vanilla yogurt. Worked wonderfully. Second time I had 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt and I rounded it out with 1/2 cup milk which also worked just fine. I added just a pinch of cinnamon, and chopped the chocolate chips roughly with a butcher knife just for personal preference. Great snacking cake, the family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Everyone in my house loved this cake! It was so moist and delicious! I wanted to try out my new silicon 10 inch cake pan and I thought this recipe would be perfect. I followed the recipe pretty much as written, except for a few small changes. I didn't have any sour cream at home, so I substituted yogurt instead. I also sifted all the dry ingredients to make it nice and fluffy. I added a few tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder and one teaspoon of cinnamon. Even though I was using a silicon pan (reduced baking time), it still took about 25 minutes to bake to perfection. I could imagine that if you used a normal cake pan, then it might take 10-20 minutes longer than stated to bake through. But I had none of the problems that others have stated. My chocolate chips were evenly distributed and the cake was perfectly moist and rich. I am definitely keeping this one in my recipe box and I am sure it will be used again and again! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
As an American living in England I often have trouble when it comes to measuring soft, ingredients like butter,. It seems the gram conversion is always a bit too much. SO 115 grams of butter is too much for this recipe. This amount of butter made the cake a bit greasy. Taking this into account I still gave the recipe five stars. The texture of this cake is lovely and light; the flavour is the perfect combination of sweet chocolate and tart sour cream. I had to bake the cake for 50 mins. Again, it's a temperature conversion thing. Would I make this cake again...You Bet!!! The only addition I made was to include a pinch of salt in the dry ingredient mixture. Next time I'll reduce the butter to 100 grams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wow!! Awesome base recipe, but made some changes and took this baby to the moon! Used fat-free sour cream mixed with a little water since I only had a scant 3/4 c left. Subbed in 1/2 c unsweetened cocoa powder for 1/2 cup of flour asked for and used only 1 egg. Baked in little cupcake papers filled to the brim for 15 minutes at 350... my my my! With a scoop of icecream on top while hot, this has made my night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
very easy and tasty. i didnt have choc chips so i subbed cocoa powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
We liked this a lot! Made it exactly as written except used fat free sour cream and mixed all wet ingredients in standing mixer added dry ingredients smallest amount to largest. Came out fuffy and moist. YUM..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I didn't particularly like this recipe. It was dry on the edges and only moist in the center (the very center). And all the chocolate chips dropped to the bottom, so it looked like a layer cake rather than a chocolate chip cake. I ate a couple bars and threw the rest out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I tried this recipe today, and I was awed with the great results! I used nonfat plain yogurt instead of sour cream, and I was scared that it wouldn't turn out as well. But, when it came out of the oven, it was amazing! Since I used the yogurt, I dropped a lot of calories as well. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States