Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I was so excited about this recipe. I chose to make this into cupcakes, and they were not nearly as moist as I thought they would be. With the butter and sour cream, I was expecting a moist, flavorful cupcake. But they were rather dry and crumbly. Cupcakes usually don't last that long around here, but these were still here days after I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Easy and delicious! I made this recipe as cupcakes and they came out great, you gotta watch them in the oven, though! I have made them once with larger chocolate chips and again with mini chocolate chips...my husband begged me to make them again with the larger! This is for sure a keeper, not much more complicated than a betty crocker box mix and tastes fantastic! With this one under my belt I'm feeling ready to try the sour cream choco cake recipe, wish me luck ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Wow, the recipe is so simple I was expecting to be a little disappointed. The only change I made was made them into cupcakes instead of cake. It only took about 15 minutes to cook. Absolutely delicious and moist. Sweet with a vanilla flavour plus the chocolate....mmmmmmmmm. We ate them plain this time but next time I am going to add a milk chocolate frosting. I can hardly wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donelle
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this in a bundt pan (my picture is one of the 3 listed), and dusted it with cinammon sugar - delicious! It was super easy to make too. Oh - the instructions forget to mention adding the vanilla - don't forget to do that. I added a touch of almond extract for a touch more flavor too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Good cake, simple to make. Tastes great, very tender crumb, moist and flavorful. Made a 9 X 9 pan first and a dozen cupcakes the second time. Both times I had problems with the middles sinking, even though I was very careful not to disturb them. I think the next time I will add just a tad bit more flour to give it a little more structure and see if that helps. Definitely worth making again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This cake is delicious - although, like another reviewer... I didn't read carefully enough and used a 9" cake pan. I didn't have a mess though, and although a little too thick for my liking, this cake was fabulous! Easy to make - and easy to devour in an afternoon with two eager small "helpers"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaaatieo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
very nice cake. I did not have quite enough sour cream, only about 2/3 cup. I used 1/2 cup of vanilla Greek yogurt because that is all I had. It took all of 45-50 minutes to bake, although I turned it down after 40 minutes to 325 because it was getting too brown on top. I sprinkled powered sugar on top. Just finished a piece and it was delightful - fluffy, moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This did not turn out well for me. My cake sunk just before coming out of oven. Perhaps because I checked on it too early that I disturbed it. However, I don't like cakes that are that finicky. Subsequently the cake was heavy and dense. The chocolate chips sunk to the bottom of the cake also. I used regular sized chips, so I would advise anyone making the cake to try mini chips instead. The cake had a nice flavor (chocolate chip cookie like). I probably won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by springlakecake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
UH-MAZE-ING!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! This cake is fantastic! It is so moist and tender even though all-purpose flour is used! I was looking for a chocolate chip cookie in cake form and I am ecstatic i found this recipe. I did trade half of the sugar for lightly packed brown sugar and used fat free sour cream (all I had) and the cake turned out wonderfully! On top of wonderful texture and flavor it was super simple to make. I would give it 10 stars if i could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States