Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
It had no flavour of chocolate and was very dry. I will not make it again. I cooked it only 30 minutes and thought it was not done enough but took it out of the oven anyway . It was over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was an ok chocolate cake. Kind of dry, and the frosting was a bit sticky, but it was ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
the cake baked up great the frosting was a total flop i didn't have enough sour cream for the cake so i used 1 cup sour cream and 1 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar in the half cup measuring cup then finished filling with milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ditziegal81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
So simple and so delicious! I made this for a get together with friends and family and I had more than one person comment on how yummy the cake was and go back for seconds. I used a cream cheese frosting that really complimented the flavor of the cake, but didn't over power it. I really like how not extra sweet this cake is. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This cake is good, and it is moist. It just didn't have as much chocolate "punch" as I was looking for. I will make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I doubled the amount of cocoa in this recipe and I loved it. It goes well with Peanut Butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I have made this cake numerous times and it was ALWAYS a success!!! It is very moist!!!! However I did add a couple of things once just to spice it up....I made it a 3 layer cake and filled the layers in with chocolate and pushed some crushed oreos around the edges of the chocolate frosting and sprinkled some on top as well....it was gone in a matter of minutes...NO LIE!!! But the cake recipe itself is one i swear by!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Kempton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
My family and I enjoyed the spongy texture of this cake. Based on other reviews, I checked it at 25 minutes and found that it was ready, otherwise it would have been overcooked at 35 minutes. I didn't use the icing recipe, preferring to make an easier-to-prepare cream cheese icing: 8oz cream cheese 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa and 1 tsp vanilla extract whipped together until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Since this recipe received such mixed reviews I wasn't sure of the a good end result, however I mixed it up and baked it in a 8-inch diameter cake pan and after tooth picking it several times ended up leaving it in for around 15min+ the original time. However it was such a great cake, the icing that goes along with it is complementary and I received compliments on it. So my tip is not using the given time and tooth picking it until it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States