Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I hate to bash the ideas of others, but I made this last night, and I found it to be really gross. I followed the recipe exactly, and it basically tasted like cream of chicken soup gone wrong. I couldn't finish eating it. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This is a great recipe. For more flavor I added a can of cream of mushroom soup (w/roasted garlic. I also cut the chicken into bite size pieces and put it on top of angel hair pasta. My husband loves it every time and it is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I subsititued vinegar for white wine and added some drained marinated artichoke hearts. It was pretty good. Serves well with rice or noodles because there is plenty of sauce on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I thought this receipe was really good. There was a lot of sauce and it was nice and creamy, there was no really strong flavour, but there was nothing wrong with that. I think it needed a bit of crunch though so I added toasted almonds to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This is one of my favorite fall-back recipes to do when I don't know what to do for dinner. My hubby and I both love it; the tanginess of the wine and sour cream go great over white basmatti rice. I do alter it slightly and use cream of mushroom chicken, tho', and add a little garlic and of course, salt and lots of ground pepper. Sorry to hear someone actually hated it! Wow, maybe she should try it w/ the cream of mushroom soup version, then it wouldn't taste so chickeny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Great recipe, nuff said =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
We've been making this one for years. we like to serve it over buttered egg noodles. Try it with cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken. Also try adding the sour cream mixture about halfway into the baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I forgot to mention, that I followed it exactly. I think the cream of mushroom soup would have been too mushroomy for *us*, but for those who like mushrooms more, that would probably be delicious too. We like them a little though, so I did add a 4 oz. can of mushrooms, and it added a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREBANARE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
so simple and tastes great. I used cream of chicken w/herbs. I think maybe the sauce could be thinned a little (more wine?..lol)I also thought adding artichokes may taste good. Haven't tried that yet. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States