Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I'm rating this dish again because so many people feel the need to change it. I agree that it does seem a little bland. I promise you all....replace 1 Tbs with Emeril's Essence Original. This is the only change I needed to perk up the flavor without changing the overall taste of the dish. The sauce is not meant to be a gravy it is more of a sauce. It also thickens upon standing. I use brown rice. I have 2 VERY picky kids. I mean it PICKY!!! They will eat this any day of the week, probably even for breakfast! OOPS FORGOT....ALSO CHOP THE CHICKEN. IT DOES WONDERS FOR THE FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We pretty much followed the recipe but added some chopped garlic, sliced mushrooms and about 1/4 cup white wine, only used half the chicken stock, increased the flour and butter to 2 tablespoons each. The consistency was perfect! Served over noodles -- excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
After reading mixed reviews and loads of suggestions to fix the blandness, I have solved the problem. Add a small amount of chicken boullion when you add the broth!! I think it added just enough flavor to make this dish absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I loved this recipe but did alter a bit, Aren't we all suppose to "DR." our food? I was really looking forward to a savory dish when I added the paprika to the onions, but 2 cups of chicken broth was probably too much. The result is watery. I did DR. mine with other seasonings, experiment to your taste buds! Next time I will cut the broth in half. I also thought maybe a 1/4 cup of white wine would give it more of a zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Well, I was a big fan of this dish, but I wish I'd read more than just the first page of reviews. Maybe I wouldn't have been expecting it to thicken up. I used lowfat sour cream , and I'm sure that didn't help, but I don't think it would have made any real difference to speak of had I used the regular stuff. Other than that, it was just what I was expecting and hoping for. My fiance told me that it was good but it tasted like it was missing something. Then proceeded to help himself to seconds. Maybe next time I'll throw in some red pepper flakes for him. (Because there will definately be a next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This is a delicious chicken dish! It turns out creamy and full of flavor every time. I serve it over penne pasta but can't wait to try it over rice! I like my food on the spicy side so I often add 1/2 - 1 tsp. of cayenne pepper. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomato75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
really good but for more 'kick', i like to add lemon juice and/or white wine when simmering the chicken in the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I changed this recipe to be both dairy free and gluten free. I substituted soy-based sour cream and 1 tsp of cornstarch in place of the flour and omitted the butter. It was really delicious. The second time I made it, I added yellow squash and mushrooms when sauteeing the onions which worked well and made it a more substantial dish. I serve it over rice with sauteed spinach on the side - a nice combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I was really looking forward to a savory dish when I added the paprika to the onions, but two cups of chicken broth was probably too much. The result is watery (even after adding corn starch the recipe doesn;t call for) and almost bland. If I make it again, I will cut the broth in half. I also thought maybe a 1/4 cup of white wine would give it more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Hmmmmmm....we were all kind of on the fence about this one. The recipe sounded terrific, but my family and I agreed that there just seemed to be something missing. I can't put my finger on what that something could be being that I certainly used enough seasonings and even tryed to give it a little zip with some cayenne. Not that it was bad by any means, just a little underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States