Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Bland as written. Be sure to add spices and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years. Those that are having trouble....here's some helpful advice.....----> You need to let the chicken cook down a bit and let the broth decrease before adding the sour cream/flour mixture. You also have to constantly stir the sour cream/flour mixture to help in the thickening process. If you want more zing....add more paprika. I use three tablespoons. My family loves this. Pour it over rice. I think it's better than over noodles. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great recipe wish it had the Hungarian nudli with it. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Loved this, although I took the suggestion of others and added garlic and half a pinch of cayenne pepper and because I can't eat anything without cracked pepper a couple of twists. I also added 1/2 red capsicum with the onions and garlic to give it a bit of colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a delicious dish!!! I used 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock instead of 2 cups. Also added a little extra flour to the sour cream to thicken up the sauce a little more. If you want this dish to have extra flavor I highly recommend using Hungarian Paprika. Hint: German Spaetzle (dumplings) for a side instead of noodles or rice is an amazing change you might want to consider when making this dish. :-) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Even using more flour than the recipe called for, the sauce didn't thicken to my satisfaction. I did add some whipping cream, black pepper, red pepper flake & organic salt free seasoning for some extra flavor...I will be making this again. Don't be afraid to adjust, it's a fairly forgiving recipe...just not very thick & creamy. I will give this more stars when I can get it thicker and as zesty as I'd like...I'll also add my any alterations I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was very "comfort food" good. For those who are adding "a little zip" via various ingredients, what you're looking for is a flavor enhancer. Most added ingredients mentioned contained MSG. I used Johnny's Seasoning. It works like a charm and brings the flavor to a different level. I think added salt would do the same thing to some degree if you can't eat MSG. I also sauted sliced fresh mushrooms slowly in butter to a light golden brown to maximize flavor and added to the cooked onions. Followed the recipe from there. I did increase the flour to 1 TBS instead of 1 tsp. I'll be making this again Friday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
We love this paprikash recipe, including our 3 yr old. We chop the chicken into bite sized chunks and to give it a bit more Hungarian flavour we dice a hot yellow banana pepper and toss it in with the chicken while it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made changes that were suggested by other reviewers - added garlic & mushrooms. Added 1/4 cup of white wine, and just 1 1/2 cups broth. Otherwise, made as recipe says. It was way too much paprika. Next time, if there is a next time, I'll cut it in half. Served over egg noodles. Just enough sauce, but just too spicey (spice, not hot) for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Hearty creamy goodness. We have made this twice and the second time was much, MUCH better than the first. I added a little bit more flour the second time and it thickened up very nice. This will become one of our go to dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves Greenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States