Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is a great recipe. I always get many compliments when I make it (which has been MANY times). I feel that 1 onion, even small, is a bit much. I usually only do half. Luckily for me, everyone I serve this too has been an onion lover so they don't mind. These ARE spicy, but delicious! You can vary the spice by adding less of the jalapeno salsa to the sour cream mixture, and more of the green chiles. You can also use a green tomatillo salsa instead of the jalapeno salsa. They still turn out amazingly good. Waiting until the enchiladas are bubbling in the oven is key. Even for about 10 minutes or so (of bubbling time). This ensures that the onions are cooked completely. I have taken it out upon immediately bubbling, and onions weren't quite cooked all the way. Even then, still delicious. Beyond delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I liked this recipe a lot. I may have gotten a little heavy-handed on the cilantro in the sauce so may not use that much again; but overall, the dish was delicious. I used corn tortillas and used another reviewers suggestion and fried them before I rolled them up. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Very good. Added purple onion & 1 large can of chiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Would be better with much less cilantro and 1 bunch of chopped green onions. Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas, burritos are made with flour! These are burritos...and it has nothing to do with your preference. You don't grill a chicken breast, slap it on a bun and call it a hamburger...these are burritos, use corn tortillas if you want to make 'enchiladas'!. You will need to fry the tortillas in hot oil for a few seconds so they will not break when filling and rolling. Flour tortillas will just turn to mush in this recipe as noted by other comments, go figure. AND, will you all please learn how to use the words 'to' and 'too'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I also used shredded rotisserie chicken, added green salsa and shredded pepper jack cheese (about a cup) for filling. Doubled the sauce, as I love the flavor and creaminess. Topped with both pepper jack and med. Cheddar. Company devoured it! Also used the sauce as a dressing for side of shredded lettuce and tomatoes. Ummm. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've made this recipe twice, the first time was for a church function and the second time for my family. The flavor is great, will work for all levels of heat, easy to alternate the recipes from mild to HOT. I do find the chicken cheese enchilada are soggy, need to use less sauce so tortilla are crunchy and not a soft casserole. Recommend 1/2 the sauce, fill as directed by 1/2 of the sauce on top with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wooddj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Used whatever I had on hand such as corn tortilla, green chile enchilada (1 cup only in chicken mix), & no cilantro. With the onions, I had sautéed until soft. To have the most optimal flavor, my chicken was seasoned well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Too much pepper flavor hid the other flavors. If I make it again, I will likely not mix much pepper salsa in the sour cream, or use some tomato based salsa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilene Edwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this dish last night with a few minor tweaks and it came out great! First of all imo a flour tortilla is for tacos/burritos NOT enchiladas so I used 12 corn tortillas instead. I very lightly fried these in canola oil on both sides and then set aside so they could cool while I worked on the sauce and chicken. For the sauce I used light sour cream, a 16 oz bottle of green salsa (with tomatillos and jalapenos), 1/2 of an onion, and since I couldn't find green chile salsa I picked up a can of diced green chiles and put 2 tsp in the blender. I also don't use cilantro regularly enough to get fresh cilantro so I subbed in 1/2 tsp dried cilantro. After blending the sauce I tasted the mixture and it had a nice kick. I'd add the green chiles to taste, if I had added anymore I would have had to mellow it out. The chicken I seasoned simply with cumino, garlic powder and salt and pepper. I sauted the breasts and shredded them afterwards. I'm not a fan of onions and I felt the sauce had enough of a kick on its own so I didn't add either to the chicken. I did add a bit of cheese as I rolled them up. The rest I followed as written. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States