Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Surgtech13
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
These Enchiladas were Phenom! Great weekend recipe, prep time is a little long.( took me longer for cooking chicken first in a taco seasoning.( boiled Chicken breast in Chicken broth and one packet of taco seasoning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surgtech13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is a great recipe. I always get many compliments when I make it (which has been MANY times). I feel that 1 onion, even small, is a bit much. I usually only do half. Luckily for me, everyone I serve this too has been an onion lover so they don't mind. These ARE spicy, but delicious! You can vary the spice by adding less of the jalapeno salsa to the sour cream mixture, and more of the green chiles. You can also use a green tomatillo salsa instead of the jalapeno salsa. They still turn out amazingly good. Waiting until the enchiladas are bubbling in the oven is key. Even for about 10 minutes or so (of bubbling time). This ensures that the onions are cooked completely. I have taken it out upon immediately bubbling, and onions weren't quite cooked all the way. Even then, still delicious. Beyond delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I liked this recipe a lot. I may have gotten a little heavy-handed on the cilantro in the sauce so may not use that much again; but overall, the dish was delicious. I used corn tortillas and used another reviewers suggestion and fried them before I rolled them up. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Very good. Added purple onion & 1 large can of chiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Would be better with much less cilantro and 1 bunch of chopped green onions. Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas, burritos are made with flour! These are burritos...and it has nothing to do with your preference. You don't grill a chicken breast, slap it on a bun and call it a hamburger...these are burritos, use corn tortillas if you want to make 'enchiladas'!. You will need to fry the tortillas in hot oil for a few seconds so they will not break when filling and rolling. Flour tortillas will just turn to mush in this recipe as noted by other comments, go figure. AND, will you all please learn how to use the words 'to' and 'too'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I also used shredded rotisserie chicken, added green salsa and shredded pepper jack cheese (about a cup) for filling. Doubled the sauce, as I love the flavor and creaminess. Topped with both pepper jack and med. Cheddar. Company devoured it! Also used the sauce as a dressing for side of shredded lettuce and tomatoes. Ummm. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Carney Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've made this recipe twice, the first time was for a church function and the second time for my family. The flavor is great, will work for all levels of heat, easy to alternate the recipes from mild to HOT. I do find the chicken cheese enchilada are soggy, need to use less sauce so tortilla are crunchy and not a soft casserole. Recommend 1/2 the sauce, fill as directed by 1/2 of the sauce on top with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wooddj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Used whatever I had on hand such as corn tortilla, green chile enchilada (1 cup only in chicken mix), & no cilantro. With the onions, I had sautéed until soft. To have the most optimal flavor, my chicken was seasoned well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Too much pepper flavor hid the other flavors. If I make it again, I will likely not mix much pepper salsa in the sour cream, or use some tomato based salsa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilene Edwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States