Sour Cream Chicken and Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Just made this tonight... even though I couldn't find "unseasoned" stuffing mix. I just used the "herb seasoned" kind and added onion, red pepper and carrot to it. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of water since the sauce looked kind of thick.. it was GREAT!! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Like another reviewer, I liked this more than I was expecting too. I just used a box of herb-seasoned Stove Top stuffing and followed the recipe to the letter except I used chicken tenderloins. This probably accounted for the saltiness and next time I would probably use low-salt cream soups. To make the stuffing, I just put the dry mixture into a bowl and added water until it was the consistency that I wanted (very wet). It came together extremely fast and easy. Comfort food. Served with some sauteed green beans with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This is a great casserole! Everyone in my family loves it. The first time I made it, I found the sauce too thick and rich, so I now use one can of soup and use milk until I have the right consistency. I also add more curry powder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
this was a good recipe.very easy, but i did make a few changes..first i left out the curry(not a big fan)second when i fixed the sauce it was very thick so i put in some chicken broth until it was thin enough to cover the chicken..also i poured some broth over the chicken and stuffing before i put on the sauce to keep it from drying out...very good chicken my hubby and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Pretty good. A couple of changes: I boiled the chicken for 20mins first and cut it up into bite-sized pieces and put in the bottom of the pan. I also mixed 1 1/2 cups of the broth from the chicken into the stuffing mix. This helped keep the cooking time down to 30-45mins. I also added black pepper and chilli powder to the soup mix instead of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Brasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
Wonderful!!! My family loved this meal.We had Stove Top stuffing mix and used that. Our family will keep this recipe and we thank you for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
The cream sauce was a bit thick. Next time I will add some water. Good taste I liked the curry flavor. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is a quick and easy dinner that pleases the masses. I always double the recipe (except for the chicken) because I am always left wishing there was extra stuffing and sauce. I often use Stove Top stuffing, and find that the seasoning adds flavor. I also sub mushroom soup for the celery soup, a personal preference. One good hint: I don't put the stuffing on top of the chicken, I put the prepared stuffing on one half of the 9x13 and the chicken/sauce combo on the other. This creates some crispy stuffing, which seems to have better texture when mixed with the chicken after cooking. This way you don't end up with a mushy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I have a very similar recipe that has just a couple of modifications. This recipe calls for only one can of soup, and I use fat-free sour cream. That layer goes on top of the chikcen, and the stuffing on top of that. Tonight I plan to add carrots, broccoli and onions with the chicken to give it a twist. Quick and easy, with many ingredients that are easy to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I've been making this dish for years, but without the curry and lemon juice. What a tasty variation,Lorna. I never would have thought about adding curry and lemon juice! Very good. I will use your variation again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States