Sour Cream Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
The name of this recipe doesn't do it justice as there are SO many wonderful flavours in this dish! I will be making this again, but next time I will use less sour cream on top of the chicken... I found it a little too much (and I LOVE sour cream!). The potatoes were the best I've ever tasted, and I may keep them separate from the rest of the dish next time. Also, I will use my food processor for the sun-dried tomato/spinach mixture, as it would not come together in the blender, even after adding a little olive oil to help emulsify it. But a very tasty chicken dish, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I used frozen spinach instead of fresh and thin cut chicken breasts instead of regular because that's what I had on hand. I didnt think it was very quick and I had my doubts about it while I was making it, but it turned out WONDERFUL! I will definately make this again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Delicious & versatile! I can't even explain how much I loved this! I used a Vidalia onion instead of red, no green peppers, 2 cloves garlic, frozen spinach, salt and freshly ground black pepper, and fat-free sour cream (couldn't even tell the difference!!!). I added about a tbsp. of butter to the potato mix as well. Next time, I will leave the parmesan out of the spinach mix, because it stuck all over the bottom of my non-stick pan when I sauteed it with the chicken. You could make this vegetarian, substituing your favorite veggie for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
My husband and I were looking for a quick, tasty meal. Although not quick, this dish was very good! The recipe suggests 15 minutes prep time, but it took us more like 30 minutes. Instead of chicken tenderloins, we used two large boneless chicken breasts, cut into strips. The pesto mix was incredible, and it would probably be great on its own, tossed with some pasta. Overall, tasty, but prep time long. Would be best cooked for a weekend meal when you have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I'm a single girl and a picky eater, so I just used the pesto mixture with the chicken and the recipe was great! Pesto mixture for me included some garlic, spinach, sun dried tomato, a little sour cream, a little parmesean cheese and a dash of lemon. Stuffed the chicken breast with it and fried it in a pan. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. I had no bell peppers and had only frozen spinach but the flavor was excellent, and easy to prepare. Rather skimpy serving for 6 though. It needed bread(I made a lightly herbed quick bread)as well as vegetables, to round out the meal. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
this was quick and yummy - I added extra spinich when i baked it just because i love spinich. thanks for a great new recipe for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Very tasty. I used bok choy in the pesto mixture instead of spinach. I would probably bump up the garlic next time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Lots of prep and clean up does not fit my definition of easy and I wouldn't bother with this again on a week night. On the upside, I liked all the fresh ingredients. I did double the potatoes but could have quadrupled as their really wasn't alot of potatoes for the amount of meat. I do not own a food processor and did have problems with the spinach and sundried tomatoes in the blender. I will have to find another way to make this mixture as ideally I would have added alot more spinach and a couple more tomatoes. My husband thought this recipe was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this one. Lots of good flavor and we had a ton of leftovers that re-heated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States