Sour Cream Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
What a strange meal. I was going to give this two stars because it was a bit bland then I realized I forgot the garlic in the sauce! I was really disappointed in the sauce and that's probably why. This recipe got a lot of great review, but I thought it was just plain strange. I've never put chicken on top of potatoes in my life. Worth a try at least once though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was definatly something different. I will make it again but I will cut the parmesian by about half. Other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guntersville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
We liked the recipe but not enough to make it again. Tasty but there's too many steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Great comfort food. Needs more garlic (any form would be fine), spinach mixture, and salt and pepper to taste. The spinach sauteed onto the chicken was genious, and I plan to reuse at least that portion of the recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This gets FIVE stars for taste! It was VERY tasty as is - but the prep for it was long and used a lot of dishes. I think in the future I will make it more like sheppard's pie and combine the onion, pepper, chicken and tomato mixture and put it underneath a layer of potatoes so that can be prepped in one large saucepan all at once. I think that way it will require less oil as I had to add more since the tomato mixture was just kind of burning and sticking to the pan. Also we will likely use less onion and more varieties of peppers. But taste was 5 stars, prep was the only thing that brought it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
MmmMMMMMMMmmmmmm! I love sun-dried tomatoes and this recipe compliments them well. I will admit the dish doesn't look appetizing, but it just melts in my mouth. Definately making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I changed the assembly of this dish by putting the cooked chicken/pesto mixture on top of the peppers and onions and spreading the potatoes on top. I also added rosemary and pine nuts to the pesto and used olive oil instead of butter. The recipe doesn't call for salt and pepper, so I salted and peppered each layer lightly. I would cook the chicken without adding the pesto until asssembling the dish in order to try to keep the brilliant green color. My kids ate it without complaining or making the gag sound with each bite, so that is a positive and I found the dish to be very flavorful, but not very pretty. Hopefully the later addition of the pesto will help that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was just okay. I won't be making it again... it just was lacking flavor. It would be good with bacon bits in it, or just something else to give it more flavor. I did use fat free sour cream but I don't think that made that much of a difference. The spinach mixture was delicious but there was barely any of it in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Even though I think this deserves 5 stars, my husband isn't as fond as I am about it. My friend made this at her house months ago, and it was so delicious. I have made it quite a few times since then, and i love it each time! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States