Sour Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I have made this cheesecake several times and it has to be one of the best and easiest cheesecake recipes. All of my guests have raved about it saying it was better than the Cheesecake Factory cheesecake. Then, along comes my twin sister and her comment was "I've had better". To her I say.......better left unsaid. So now I have renamed this The I've Had Better Cheesecake and everyone stil loves it. Don't change a thing. It is delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Fantastic taste and very easy to make! The only thing you'd have to worry about is the temperature of your oven, cos I got my cheesecake burnt on the surface and had to scrape the burnt parts off. I reduced the sugar amount to bring out more of the sour flavor. Rich and creamy and honestly can rival the cheesecakes you buy from coffee shops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I really really liked this recipe. My only change would be a sweeter crust and a bit more vanilla in the cream cheese mixture. The bake times were spot on for my oven. The only thing I did different is I put the cake in the fridge fresh from the oven after the cream cheese topping and it did not affect the setting or texture of the cheescake at all. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coal City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Just plain and simple “D” good cheesecake. Just cream cheese, sugar, eggs and vanilla (and a sour cream topping). Just exactly what I wanted. Just what I got – rich and creamy vanilla cheesecake. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I had too much cream cheese and sour cream that I wanted to use up. This recipe seemed simple enough. I followed it to a T and OMIGOSH. So, so, so divine. I've made a number of different cheesecake recipes and this has got to be my favorite. Super easy and insanely good. Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
As I have said before, this was-wait, IS an amazing recipe. Don't make any changes. But I HAVE to warn you about one thing. Don't go near the oven, or else you may get the overwhelming urge to eat the cheesecake right then and there! Delicious, and yummy. I would suggest this to even people I hadn't even known if I could. Yum! By the way, once you make this, it will be a family favorite. That is garanteed. :)_
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was delicious! Loved the tartness of the sour cream topping. I did not have a springform pan so I made recipe as is and split it between two nine inch pie plates. This actually turned out better than expected because it allowed for smaller pieces which went farther at our holiday party. I will definitely make this again. A true authentic cheesecake for the cheesecake lover. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Outstanding! Easy, simple to prepare and delicious. I included ground walnuts in the graham cracker crust then baked at 325 for 10 minutes then added the cream cheese filling. I also added my own 'water bath' solution to prevent cracking; muffin tin filled w/water below the spring pan. I also refrigerated overnight and was able to slice perfectly. I recommend this recipe highly. Be forewarned though, friends and family will always request this one for gatherings and bake sells :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skipperose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
A simple, easy to prepare recipe that makes a creamy and delicious cheesecake. I always line the sides and bottom of the spring-form pan with parchment paper for both a nice clean edge and also for ease in moving the cake from the pan onto a cake dish. This is a great starter cheesecake recipe for the new cook. Serve with fresh fruit for a fabulous dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Prepared exactly as written. What a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States