Sour Cream Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is really a nice, easy one-dish recipe for a family dinner at home. Like another reviewer, I remember my mom making something similar to this. For the most part, I prepared this dish as directed, but made some minor changes. I steamed some broccoli and added to the recipe when I did the chicken. After I poured the mixture into the oven proof dish, I added a layer of grated cheese, a layer of breadcrumbs and then a few pats of butter over the top. I also increased the cook time to 30 minutes to make sure it was nice and hot and just let the ingredients simmer well. I served it over Angel Hair Pasta and it was loved by the entire family. My husband took the left overs to work then next day. I will definetly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
In Cleveland, TN there is a diner called "Earl's Restaurant" where the local college students eat chicken casserole religiously - every Tuesday and Thursday. For four years I was amongst them, and we sang the glory of the Earl's girls and thier creamy casserole. Maybe you had to have been there to understand. But this is the recipe. This is exactly it, and the cream cheese is the difference. Serve it with mashed potatoes and brown gravy, yeast rolls, green beans, and corn. Wash it down with sweet iced tea. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was a very tasty casserole, but very rich. A little goes a long way! I made a few changes: first, prior to putting on the cracker crumb topping, I sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese. Then I sprinkled on the remaining cracker crumbs. I sprinkled on a handful of canned plain bread crumbs too, to make sure it would get crispy and not mushy. Lastly, I dotted some butter on top to make it turn golden brown. I had to add about 5-10 minutes on to the cooking time to brown the bread crumbs. I served this over egg noodles (as this tastes a lot like a chicken stroganoff) and steamed asparagus. Delicious, my boyfriend loved it (he ate it 3 times in two days), which means I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
You have to try this!! I changed things around a bit. I put uncooked thin chicken cutlets in a greased pan to start. Pre cook a package of your favorite stuffing and set aside. In a pot cook 1 can of cream of mushroom, 3/4 cup sourcream and a 1/2 container of cream cheese. When this mixture becomes smooth pour over the chicken. Then put stuffing mixture on top. Cook on 350 for 1 hour. You will love this. My husband could not get enough.Serve with noodles and biscuits. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I'm surprised at all the positive reviews for this recipe. It was okay, but not very flavorful. I tasted the fat and dairy from the sour cream and cream cheese more than anything. I felt it was very heavy and drowned out any flavor that could have been present in the chicken or soup. The crackers became soggy and did not add texture to the casserole. I added canned mushrooms, tarragon, poultry seasoning and pepper, and that didn't help matters. I agree that this is a very fatty dish. It was very easy to make, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOT1APRON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This was very easy to make and was very creamy and good, however the cracker crumbs didn't really add anything as a topping as they were soggy. I think something a bit crisper or crunchier on top would be good as a contrast to the creaminess. Maybe I would add some cheese on top to brown up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe is awesome! You need to garnish it with something though. If you serve it over rice or buscuits, it completes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
My husband just tasted this dish and said one word: PHENOMENAL. Perfectly creamy and sooooo tasty. I made the recipe as stated, but topped the mixture with cheese before layering the cracker crumbs. I used freshly grated Gruyere cheese and shredded Parmesan. Layering the cheese first kept the cracker crumbs crispy when baking in the oven. Other than the cheese, I didn't change a thing and it turned out GREAT. I paired the dish with steamed broccoli, which was good on the side and also mixed in with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Excellent recipe. Easily feeds a family of four. I've made this close to twenty times since I first saw the recipe last year. It takes almost no time to prepare and is very easy to make. I've made it with chicken, and with turkey, and both were excellent. It's a GREAT use for leftover Thanksgiving turkey. While not the prettiest dish to serve, it certainly makes up for it in taste. I highly recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I found that the topping was not cripsy enough to counter balance the creaminess of the dish. Suggestion: Sprinkle cheddar cheese over entire top of casserole. Mix cracker crumbs with melted butter and sprinkle over cheese. Bake for recommended time. If you would like more of a golden crust, broil in the oven on low for a few minutes or until the crumbs reach the desired cripsness. Quick and easy recipe - and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States