Sour Cream Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe is awesome! You need to garnish it with something though. If you serve it over rice or buscuits, it completes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
We liked this bu my husband said it was very one dimensional, not much depth of flavor. Basically, a comfort food. If I make it again, I would added slivered almonds to the top and maybe broccoli. Added fresh minced garlic and melted butter to the soup mixture. Also, more shredded chicken. My kids liked it BEFORE I added the Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was a very tasty casserole, but very rich. A little goes a long way! I made a few changes: first, prior to putting on the cracker crumb topping, I sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese. Then I sprinkled on the remaining cracker crumbs. I sprinkled on a handful of canned plain bread crumbs too, to make sure it would get crispy and not mushy. Lastly, I dotted some butter on top to make it turn golden brown. I had to add about 5-10 minutes on to the cooking time to brown the bread crumbs. I served this over egg noodles (as this tastes a lot like a chicken stroganoff) and steamed asparagus. Delicious, my boyfriend loved it (he ate it 3 times in two days), which means I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was delicious!! Didn't make a whole lot, I was able to feed three teenage boys and myself. Presentation is a little blah, so don't make it for company, but I've already got requests to make it again. I'll be making this many more times. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Declan's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was a nice twist on the standard chicken casserole. I used non-fat sour cream, non-fat cream cheese and low-fat cream of mushroom soup (just one can, for four servings--plenty for me and my boyfriend). The reduced fat helps it to weigh much less heavily on the mind or the arteries, but the creaminess and taste are still there. I added cooked noodles and broccoli to the dish to round it out. Nice, efficient weekday dish that tasted rather like a creamy chicken stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This was very easy to make and was very creamy and good, however the cracker crumbs didn't really add anything as a topping as they were soggy. I think something a bit crisper or crunchier on top would be good as a contrast to the creaminess. Maybe I would add some cheese on top to brown up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
My family loved this. It is very rich and creamy. This has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
very easy to make and it is something different i love cheese so i put some shreaded cheese on top very cheesy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Very easy to make, but not so easy to eat. I love all the ingredients, but this casserole made them taste gross. It would have helped if the cracker crumbs were crispy, but they were very soggy. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I'm surprised at all the positive reviews for this recipe. It was okay, but not very flavorful. I tasted the fat and dairy from the sour cream and cream cheese more than anything. I felt it was very heavy and drowned out any flavor that could have been present in the chicken or soup. The crackers became soggy and did not add texture to the casserole. I added canned mushrooms, tarragon, poultry seasoning and pepper, and that didn't help matters. I agree that this is a very fatty dish. It was very easy to make, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOT1APRON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States