Sour Cream Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was delicious!! Didn't make a whole lot, I was able to feed three teenage boys and myself. Presentation is a little blah, so don't make it for company, but I've already got requests to make it again. I'll be making this many more times. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Declan's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was a nice twist on the standard chicken casserole. I used non-fat sour cream, non-fat cream cheese and low-fat cream of mushroom soup (just one can, for four servings--plenty for me and my boyfriend). The reduced fat helps it to weigh much less heavily on the mind or the arteries, but the creaminess and taste are still there. I added cooked noodles and broccoli to the dish to round it out. Nice, efficient weekday dish that tasted rather like a creamy chicken stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This was very easy to make and was very creamy and good, however the cracker crumbs didn't really add anything as a topping as they were soggy. I think something a bit crisper or crunchier on top would be good as a contrast to the creaminess. Maybe I would add some cheese on top to brown up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
My family loved this. It is very rich and creamy. This has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
very easy to make and it is something different i love cheese so i put some shreaded cheese on top very cheesy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Very easy to make, but not so easy to eat. I love all the ingredients, but this casserole made them taste gross. It would have helped if the cracker crumbs were crispy, but they were very soggy. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I'm surprised at all the positive reviews for this recipe. It was okay, but not very flavorful. I tasted the fat and dairy from the sour cream and cream cheese more than anything. I felt it was very heavy and drowned out any flavor that could have been present in the chicken or soup. The crackers became soggy and did not add texture to the casserole. I added canned mushrooms, tarragon, poultry seasoning and pepper, and that didn't help matters. I agree that this is a very fatty dish. It was very easy to make, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOT1APRON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Yummy comfort food, good use for leftover chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This is probably one of the best recipies I have found on this site. I used 1 can of cream of celery instead of mushroom and Italian bread crumbs instead of crackers. So good! I just wish it was lower fat so I could make it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
My family enjoyed this casserole. It had a good flavor to it, and was easy to assemble. My only complaint would be that it is very rich and there seems to be quite a bit of leftover sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States