Sour Cream Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This is a good recipe! The two cans of cream soup was a little much for my taste. But I like the addition of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
In Cleveland, TN there is a diner called "Earl's Restaurant" where the local college students eat chicken casserole religiously - every Tuesday and Thursday. For four years I was amongst them, and we sang the glory of the Earl's girls and thier creamy casserole. Maybe you had to have been there to understand. But this is the recipe. This is exactly it, and the cream cheese is the difference. Serve it with mashed potatoes and brown gravy, yeast rolls, green beans, and corn. Wash it down with sweet iced tea. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I thought this was absolutely delicious. I boiled and cubed my chicken before mixing it. I don't know if you were supposed to, but it was much easier this way. Then mixed it up. At that point I didn't see why you should bake it. It was already hot! So I topped it with the crushed butter crackers then. And they didn't get soggy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is really a nice, easy one-dish recipe for a family dinner at home. Like another reviewer, I remember my mom making something similar to this. For the most part, I prepared this dish as directed, but made some minor changes. I steamed some broccoli and added to the recipe when I did the chicken. After I poured the mixture into the oven proof dish, I added a layer of grated cheese, a layer of breadcrumbs and then a few pats of butter over the top. I also increased the cook time to 30 minutes to make sure it was nice and hot and just let the ingredients simmer well. I served it over Angel Hair Pasta and it was loved by the entire family. My husband took the left overs to work then next day. I will definetly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
very greasy and ho-hum. My husband thought it was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My mom used to make a very similar recipe when I was a kid, and we begged for it often! I think the only difference was that it had a little more sour cream and chicken, and there was no cream cheese or crackers in the casserole mixture. I would put an entire tube of crackers of top, after mixing w/ 1/4 c. of butter or margarine and cook for about 30 min. for a GBD topping. I've also played w/ adding some herbs (thyme, tarragon, whatever) or spices (pinch of cayenne, extra black pepper). Make it your own, serve w/ green beans and something starchy. Comfort food heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe. I add water chestnuts and serve over rice and it is wonderful. Definitely made quite frequently at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe is awesome! You need to garnish it with something though. If you serve it over rice or buscuits, it completes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
We liked this bu my husband said it was very one dimensional, not much depth of flavor. Basically, a comfort food. If I make it again, I would added slivered almonds to the top and maybe broccoli. Added fresh minced garlic and melted butter to the soup mixture. Also, more shredded chicken. My kids liked it BEFORE I added the Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was a very tasty casserole, but very rich. A little goes a long way! I made a few changes: first, prior to putting on the cracker crumb topping, I sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese. Then I sprinkled on the remaining cracker crumbs. I sprinkled on a handful of canned plain bread crumbs too, to make sure it would get crispy and not mushy. Lastly, I dotted some butter on top to make it turn golden brown. I had to add about 5-10 minutes on to the cooking time to brown the bread crumbs. I served this over egg noodles (as this tastes a lot like a chicken stroganoff) and steamed asparagus. Delicious, my boyfriend loved it (he ate it 3 times in two days), which means I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States