Sour Cream Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this recipe with some changes. We like onion so I chopped one small onion and sauteed it while I was chopping the chicken. I am always trying to sneak vegetables into my younger children so I grated one carrot and threw it in with the onion. Once that cooked for about 5 minutes I threw in the chicken and cooked it until no longer pink. I added the remaining ingredients from the posted recipe with the addition of some frozen peas. After everything had a chance to heat through and combine I poured it into a baking dish and topped it with grated cheese, cracker crumbs, and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese on top. I baked the dish in the oven for about 15 minutes until it was hot and bubbly and golden brown on top. My family gobbled it up, veggies and all! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEJENS234

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Applegate, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was awesome! I absolutely loved it and so did everyone in my family. I did make 1 change, I also put rice with it. I did everything according to the recipe but also made rice and mixed in the can of cream of mushroom soup and cream of chicken soup as well as the cream cheese and sour cream. I mixed it well and put it in the bottom of the dish and then put the chicken mixture on top. When it was about 5 min from being done, I sprinkled it with chedder cheese. I think I used about 2-3 cups of cooked rice in the dish. I have the large pyrex casserole dish and it fit perfectly. We will be having this again and I already added it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I was attempting to recreate a casserole that the mom of one of my roomates used to make. This, I'm happy to say, nailed it (with some modification). I omitted the sour cream and cream of mushroom, because neither of these bring any important flavors to the mix and essentially are wasted calories. Also, I didn't remember any of these ingredients being in the original casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added some spices and topped it with parmesean cheese and paprika rather than crushed crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This couldnt be any better - unless you add thawed and cooked spinach and I used bread crumbs for the topping, but still used the crackers. MMMMM. This will be a regular for our family and when I take meals to other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was actually a 3.5 for me. I was disappointed with the "enchilada" like flavor. I like enchiladas, but I was expecting something else. I may try this again, but I will play with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I love the name of this recipe. However, when it comes to taste, it needs a little more of a kick to it. Next time I am going to add a small can of green chiles to see if it gives it the kick it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofthreeboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Sorry, but we didn't care for this at all. It was more like eating heated canned soup. I thought it sounded good but when we ate it everyone vetoed me making it again. Won't make again. It's a shame that putting good ingredients together can come out so badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Delicious! Followed directions exactly and topped with grated sharp cheddar, and extra crushed crackers. I'm keeping this one. I opened a can of cheap refrigerated biscuits, baked them according to directions on the tube, and dolloped this over the top into individual serving bowls. WOW! Fattening, rich, and tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I rated this recipe 4 stars because its only chicken. I added my own things to make it more hearty. I fried up some hashbrowns and put in the bottome of a lightly greased casserole dish. I also added broccoli and french fried onions to the chicken and soup mixture. I once replaced the broccoli with julienne green beans and it was amazing. Tonight I will try the broccoli.I also cooked an additional 20 minutes, and topped with shredded mild chedder cheese and sprinkled remaining french fry onions the last 5 minuts of cook time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States