Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This recipe has a lot of banana taste, I loved it. I only had three over ripe bananas, but that was enough. I did find it a bit dry, I could have over baked because I baked it in the 9 x 12 pan. Next time I will add a little more sour cream and hope it gets more moist. I also added a small amount of almond extract to the frosting because I did not add the nuts to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I took this to our weekly Bible Study - Everyone said they wanted it for their birthday cake when the time came. This is my new favorite cake. It is delicious, moist and perfect. Thank you, Margaret. Addition -I have now made this cake about 15 times. Some may find batter thick and "heavy" because they are not sifting the cake flour enough. I sift three times. Also - last time I ran out of brown sugar so used 1 cup brown and 1 cup white. The result was a completely different flavor, also fabulous. A light airy delicious cake. The riper the bananas, the more banana flavor. Again, Margaret, Thank you, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I would love to have more recipes from Margret wheler. My ancestors are from denmark and I would like to have more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Since a lot of people were saying it made too much batter, and since I also only had one banana left, I cut everything down by a forth. Turned out pretty well still, cept I didn't find it sweet enough by cutting down this measurement by four, so will add extra sugar next time. I used white sugar instead of brown since people found it to be heavy. I also used fat free sour cream and dusted the cake with confectioner's sugar. Giving it five stars because whole fam loved the cake, especially my sister who finished half the rest!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
this is a really awesome cake. i used fat free sour cream and it turned out just as good, so that's something to keep in mind to bring down the fat. the icing has to be warmed up before you put it on the cake, i found, or else it's hard to spread (maybe i just didn't add enough sour cream). i had to hide this cake in the freezer so i wouldn't eat it all! delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I halfed the recipe and it made one nice sized bundt pan cake. Didnt make the icing. Plenty good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
It was absolutly delicious, i couldn't beleive how easy it was to make, and how moist and delicious it was, this recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
I made this cake for a Scandinavian Club party and everyone loved it - I baked it in two 9-in pans and it worked out great. There was just enough frosting for two layers, so you might make more if you end up with three layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made this cake 3 times already and I have had TONS of compliments on it from all my friends. The first cake flopped though, but that was because I put the oven on grill (I am new to baking and I can't read my oven)... hahaha... But my friends still enjoyed it so much.. Anyways, I think it was great with or without the frosting... Say thanks to your GRANDMA for me!! I had too much batter when I used a smaller pan and I made cupcakes!! It was still really good!! This is an awesome recipe!! Who would've have thought of sour cream huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
through all recipes I am a good cook.I love the recipe and plan on making it a lot,can't believe I ate the hold thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States