Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was REALLY raved over by the group(adults and kids) for which I made it. I have to say that I highly recommend the use of cream cheese frosting (1 1/2 blocks cream cheese, 10 tb. unsalted butter--both softened, and 24 oz. powdered sugar, splash of vanilla) AND plenty of chopped walnuts on the entire OUTSIDE of the 3-layer cake INSTEAD of in the batter! It looks and tastes amazing that way...judging by all the sneaky "nut snatchers" in the group =) I followed the recipe...except I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar for a lighter color and texture, and I doubled the salt. All my ingredients were at room temperature, and I creamed the sugars and butter until very light and fluffy (4-5 min?). The batter was light and the cake was not too heavy either. All said, we highly recommend this cake =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Very good! This is a big cake, I've made it 3 times and find it bakes very nicely in a 12 cup tube pan. I use 3 and a half cups of all-purpose flour in place of cake flour. It's even better if wrapped and refrigerated overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I took this to our weekly Bible Study - Everyone said they wanted it for their birthday cake when the time came. This is my new favorite cake. It is delicious, moist and perfect. Thank you, Margaret. Addition -I have now made this cake about 15 times. Some may find batter thick and "heavy" because they are not sifting the cake flour enough. I sift three times. Also - last time I ran out of brown sugar so used 1 cup brown and 1 cup white. The result was a completely different flavor, also fabulous. A light airy delicious cake. The riper the bananas, the more banana flavor. Again, Margaret, Thank you, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made this cake exactly like the directions called for. I made it into a 9 x 13 pan and it got gobbled up totally at work today. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENSEICHERYL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ocean View, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I halfed the recipe and it made one nice sized bundt pan cake. Didnt make the icing. Plenty good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Since a lot of people were saying it made too much batter, and since I also only had one banana left, I cut everything down by a forth. Turned out pretty well still, cept I didn't find it sweet enough by cutting down this measurement by four, so will add extra sugar next time. I used white sugar instead of brown since people found it to be heavy. I also used fat free sour cream and dusted the cake with confectioner's sugar. Giving it five stars because whole fam loved the cake, especially my sister who finished half the rest!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I would love to have more recipes from Margret wheler. My ancestors are from denmark and I would like to have more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
this is a really awesome cake. i used fat free sour cream and it turned out just as good, so that's something to keep in mind to bring down the fat. the icing has to be warmed up before you put it on the cake, i found, or else it's hard to spread (maybe i just didn't add enough sour cream). i had to hide this cake in the freezer so i wouldn't eat it all! delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I really liked the cake part pof this recipe. I agree it makes a big, moist cake. If your cake was dry, you probably overcooked it. I didn't have brown sugar so I used white sugar. I also used 3-1/2 c. all purpose flour and 3 bananas because that was all I had on hand. I wasn't fond of the frosting. Another reviewer said the recipe didn't make much frosting, but I ended up with a huge bowl full of it. I took it to work and while most people liked the cake, many commented the frosting was just too sweet. Next time I will use a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I read most of the reviews after I made this. This is a very dense heavy cake & is okay but if you are looking for a "light" cake with plenty of banana flavor this is not for you. Many others said the brown sugar made it heavy and I REALLY packed the 2 cups of b.sugar very well. So, that probably detracted from the banana flavor. I am sure if you follow other's advice to use 1/2 white and 1/2 brown- it would be better. Not worth the calories to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States