Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
It was absolutly delicious, i couldn't beleive how easy it was to make, and how moist and delicious it was, this recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
The brown sugar gave the cake a heavier texture and a slightly different taste and also added to the heaviness of the cake. There was too much batter to fit into a 9x13" pan so at the last minute I used 2 small foil loaf pans to hold the remaining batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
Very tasty, especially with a sour cream based chocolate frosting. There was too much batter to fit into one 9x13 pan, so I used two round cake pans and it fit perfect! Recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
I made this cake for a Scandinavian Club party and everyone loved it - I baked it in two 9-in pans and it worked out great. There was just enough frosting for two layers, so you might make more if you end up with three layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
this is a really awesome cake. i used fat free sour cream and it turned out just as good, so that's something to keep in mind to bring down the fat. the icing has to be warmed up before you put it on the cake, i found, or else it's hard to spread (maybe i just didn't add enough sour cream). i had to hide this cake in the freezer so i wouldn't eat it all! delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Since a lot of people were saying it made too much batter, and since I also only had one banana left, I cut everything down by a forth. Turned out pretty well still, cept I didn't find it sweet enough by cutting down this measurement by four, so will add extra sugar next time. I used white sugar instead of brown since people found it to be heavy. I also used fat free sour cream and dusted the cake with confectioner's sugar. Giving it five stars because whole fam loved the cake, especially my sister who finished half the rest!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Very good! This is a big cake, I've made it 3 times and find it bakes very nicely in a 12 cup tube pan. I use 3 and a half cups of all-purpose flour in place of cake flour. It's even better if wrapped and refrigerated overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This recipe has a lot of banana taste, I loved it. I only had three over ripe bananas, but that was enough. I did find it a bit dry, I could have over baked because I baked it in the 9 x 12 pan. Next time I will add a little more sour cream and hope it gets more moist. I also added a small amount of almond extract to the frosting because I did not add the nuts to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I halfed the recipe and it made one nice sized bundt pan cake. Didnt make the icing. Plenty good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Overall this cake had an okay taste. That's why I gave it two stars, but the cake is very heavy, which makes a difficult three layer cake. The cake flour also makes the cake very thick. I also doubled the icing recipe because the single recipe for the icing just isn't enough. I'm in no rush to make this cake again. It's just not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States