Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made this cake 3 times already and I have had TONS of compliments on it from all my friends. The first cake flopped though, but that was because I put the oven on grill (I am new to baking and I can't read my oven)... hahaha... But my friends still enjoyed it so much.. Anyways, I think it was great with or without the frosting... Say thanks to your GRANDMA for me!! I had too much batter when I used a smaller pan and I made cupcakes!! It was still really good!! This is an awesome recipe!! Who would've have thought of sour cream huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
The cake was good and easy to make, but it seemed to be lacking something. I used unsalted butter, so if I make it again, I would probably either use salted butter or add more salt. I also made a half recipe in a bundt pan (I only had two bananas), and I didn't frost it or glaze it. I think I would also put a confectioner's sugar glaze on it, or else dust the whole thing with powdered sugar. I had melted the butter by mistake when I was trying to defrost it, so I put it in the freezer for a few minutes while I got the rest of the ingredients together, and blended the ingredients while the butter was still very liquid. I don't think that it affected the consistency of the cake, which was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
i substituted the wheat flour with organic spelt flour and it turned out perfect. super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was ok. I used half white/half brown sugar like some other reviewers said, and I think that helped. But the cake was still pretty heavy. It had a good taste, but I think I'll stick with my tried and true banana bread recipe that I've had forever. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I really liked the cake part pof this recipe. I agree it makes a big, moist cake. If your cake was dry, you probably overcooked it. I didn't have brown sugar so I used white sugar. I also used 3-1/2 c. all purpose flour and 3 bananas because that was all I had on hand. I wasn't fond of the frosting. Another reviewer said the recipe didn't make much frosting, but I ended up with a huge bowl full of it. I took it to work and while most people liked the cake, many commented the frosting was just too sweet. Next time I will use a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I would love to have more recipes from Margret wheler. My ancestors are from denmark and I would like to have more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is a nice recipe for those with big eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I took this to our weekly Bible Study - Everyone said they wanted it for their birthday cake when the time came. This is my new favorite cake. It is delicious, moist and perfect. Thank you, Margaret. Addition -I have now made this cake about 15 times. Some may find batter thick and "heavy" because they are not sifting the cake flour enough. I sift three times. Also - last time I ran out of brown sugar so used 1 cup brown and 1 cup white. The result was a completely different flavor, also fabulous. A light airy delicious cake. The riper the bananas, the more banana flavor. Again, Margaret, Thank you, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Overall this cake had an okay taste. That's why I gave it two stars, but the cake is very heavy, which makes a difficult three layer cake. The cake flour also makes the cake very thick. I also doubled the icing recipe because the single recipe for the icing just isn't enough. I'm in no rush to make this cake again. It's just not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I halfed the recipe and it made one nice sized bundt pan cake. Didnt make the icing. Plenty good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States