Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I also used half white sugar, half brown. I made it with chocolate icing and it was wonderful. the colour contrast of the icing with the cake looks really nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjellybean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is a wonderful cake not too sweet delicious,moist perfect! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great cake! My husband and kids loved it! I only used 1/2 of the confectioner's sugar in the icing and it was still very sweet. If making the full recipe for the cake I would double the icing recipe (but halving the confectioner's sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! It was rich, full of flavour and got rave reviews at the birthday for which I made this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very Good! This also works very well in a loaf pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was REALLY raved over by the group(adults and kids) for which I made it. I have to say that I highly recommend the use of cream cheese frosting (1 1/2 blocks cream cheese, 10 tb. unsalted butter--both softened, and 24 oz. powdered sugar, splash of vanilla) AND plenty of chopped walnuts on the entire OUTSIDE of the 3-layer cake INSTEAD of in the batter! It looks and tastes amazing that way...judging by all the sneaky "nut snatchers" in the group =) I followed the recipe...except I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar for a lighter color and texture, and I doubled the salt. All my ingredients were at room temperature, and I creamed the sugars and butter until very light and fluffy (4-5 min?). The batter was light and the cake was not too heavy either. All said, we highly recommend this cake =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made this cake exactly like the directions called for. I made it into a 9 x 13 pan and it got gobbled up totally at work today. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENSEICHERYL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ocean View, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Great recipe. I iced it with cream cheese frosting. Very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is the best (I would call it banana BREAD)i have ever had!!! It needs no frosting whatsoever, ABSOLUTELY HEAVENLY!!!! Thanks soo much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
We just ate some of this still warm from the oven and my husband loved it. I used 1 cup dark brown sugar, 1 cup white and forgot to add the vanilla but it still turned out great. I didn't add nuts, either, since my son doesn't like them. I used someone's suggestion and baked it in a tube pan. I combined the icing recipe with the Banana Butter icing from this site to use my last banana and drizzled it over the top as a glaze. It was wonderful, definitely a great way to use the bananas we always seem to let get too ripe to eat! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States