Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
i found this cake to be delicious and very moist. even 4 days (in a sealed container) after i made it, it was still delicious! only suggestion is i would measure out the quanity of banana needeed so you know for future reference. this way you don't get inconsistent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonMS4489

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
A scrumptious cake - dense and tasty! I used the cream cheese icing from Banana Cake VI (used 1.5X recipe to frost whole cake). As I have not sifted flour before, I made sure to sift BEFORE measuring. As per reviews, I considered using 1 c. white sugar but kept the 2 c. brown. Had to leave out the nuts for one of the guests. Not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I also used half white sugar, half brown. I made it with chocolate icing and it was wonderful. the colour contrast of the icing with the cake looks really nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjellybean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is a wonderful cake not too sweet delicious,moist perfect! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great cake! My husband and kids loved it! I only used 1/2 of the confectioner's sugar in the icing and it was still very sweet. If making the full recipe for the cake I would double the icing recipe (but halving the confectioner's sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! It was rich, full of flavour and got rave reviews at the birthday for which I made this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very Good! This also works very well in a loaf pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was REALLY raved over by the group(adults and kids) for which I made it. I have to say that I highly recommend the use of cream cheese frosting (1 1/2 blocks cream cheese, 10 tb. unsalted butter--both softened, and 24 oz. powdered sugar, splash of vanilla) AND plenty of chopped walnuts on the entire OUTSIDE of the 3-layer cake INSTEAD of in the batter! It looks and tastes amazing that way...judging by all the sneaky "nut snatchers" in the group =) I followed the recipe...except I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar for a lighter color and texture, and I doubled the salt. All my ingredients were at room temperature, and I creamed the sugars and butter until very light and fluffy (4-5 min?). The batter was light and the cake was not too heavy either. All said, we highly recommend this cake =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made this cake exactly like the directions called for. I made it into a 9 x 13 pan and it got gobbled up totally at work today. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENSEICHERYL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ocean View, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Great recipe. I iced it with cream cheese frosting. Very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States