Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Loved loved loved this cake, as did my friends and both our families. Wasn't that hard to make and so moist! Did substitute pecans for walnuts for my husband's delicate stomach but a total hit will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Used a bundt pan plus a small ovenproof bowl (it would have run over the bundt pan). Followed recipe except used 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour and crisco butter flavor stick (that's what was on hand). Oh, I did add just 1/2 tsp each of ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg. Warm from oven sliced a chunk and spread on some margarine- uuummm good ! This one is a keeper :) Mine did not turn out dark and heavy maybe because the bananas were not very over-ripe. I do think this would work in a 9x13 pan, maybe have to make a few cupcakes or smaller pan so as not to overfill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I give this recipe 4 stars because it really is just banana bread in a cake pan. It is super delicious and moist. I made it for my daughters 4th birthday and she loves it. We all do. I am watching my calories so I could only have 30 grams of it and it was the best 30 grams of food I have had all week!!! I made the recipe exactly as stated, except I made my own cake flour (AP + cornstarch). I also did not make the frosting. We try and eat our cake plain, but I can only imagine that it would be super fantastic with a cream cheese frosting. YUMMY. Overall it is a great recipe and I will for sure be making this again. Thank you Margaret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Made a few tweaks and turned out moist, dense, and delicious. Changes made (some taken from other reviewers): 1/2 brown sugar + 1/2 white sugar, creamed butter and sugar thoroughly, used only 3.5 cups of all-purpose flour, (for icing:) only used 3 c. of confec. sugar (too sweet otherwise), and nearly doubled sour cream - taste for yourself!! I'll most certainly be banking this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a sure hit at my home. Husband and children loved it. I did add 8 oz of cream cheese to the frosting and it was a sure hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I read most of the reviews after I made this. This is a very dense heavy cake & is okay but if you are looking for a "light" cake with plenty of banana flavor this is not for you. Many others said the brown sugar made it heavy and I REALLY packed the 2 cups of b.sugar very well. So, that probably detracted from the banana flavor. I am sure if you follow other's advice to use 1/2 white and 1/2 brown- it would be better. Not worth the calories to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Too much work to make this a layer cake, so just put into the 9x13 pan. I put cream cheese frosting on top. Very moist & really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
i found this cake to be delicious and very moist. even 4 days (in a sealed container) after i made it, it was still delicious! only suggestion is i would measure out the quanity of banana needeed so you know for future reference. this way you don't get inconsistent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonMS4489

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
A scrumptious cake - dense and tasty! I used the cream cheese icing from Banana Cake VI (used 1.5X recipe to frost whole cake). As I have not sifted flour before, I made sure to sift BEFORE measuring. As per reviews, I considered using 1 c. white sugar but kept the 2 c. brown. Had to leave out the nuts for one of the guests. Not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I also used half white sugar, half brown. I made it with chocolate icing and it was wonderful. the colour contrast of the icing with the cake looks really nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjellybean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States