Sour Cream Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Really, truly good. The processing of the bananas plus sour cream makes it special. Adding nuts/choco chips or coconut just boosts the flavor and texture. I bake for about an hour in a glass pan. It could go a bit longer as instructed, but I'm ok with a bit of squishy banana goodness in the middle. I save that piece for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this recipe (omitting walnuts--blech) as 12 mini leaves in my square muffin muffin pan. They didn't last long at ALL. I liked how WHITE they baked up. I guess my bananas didn't stand a chance of going brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
It's delicious. I substituted an equal measure of melted coconut oil instead of the butter, and cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup. I doubled the recipe and made two loaves, and they were done in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
A bit dense but flavorful...used pecans instead of walnuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was cooked on the outside, passed the toothpick inspection but doughy weird texture in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing an amazing recipe. My entire picky family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I have to say this is the best banana bread recipe that I have ever tried. The batter is really fluffy and light and not dense like most other breads that I have tried. The sour cream adds an excellent moisture to the bread.....another issue I have had with past recipes.....dry bread! Nobody wants that. I like that it is sweetened more with bananas over sugar. Other recipes I have used called for up to 3 cups of sugar!! This is a great mix and yes, I agree, the cinnamon sugar topping is a nice touch. Great recipe! I think I will be using this one going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dalyk
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Made this tonight on a whim and love it. Added chopped walnuts and Reese chips in layers in the loaf and sprinkled the crumbs on top, along with the cinnamon&sugar. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon&sugar on the layers I made. Smells amazing, looks amazing. I don't have a bread pan so I used a small casserole dish, Which did not leave it a lot of room to expand - which I think caused the fractures on top. I only had 3 bananas, and it did taste good with just three. I can tell it would taste THAT MUCH BETTER if I had four. Next time, four bananas and I need to buy myself a bread pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made this today with a sick friend. It came out more like a banana pound cake, but still really yummy! Maybe I mixed the bananas too long??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is the BEST, but put it in TWO pans, it overflowed the first time I made it, turned out perfect when baked in two 5 x 9 loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States