Sour Cream Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Tried this recipe today. Oh my God is it good! Nice touch to sprinkle cinnamon sugar over the top before baking. Smelled SO good baking on the oven. My teenagers asked me when they could have a piece even before it was done baking. I baked it for an hour and 15 minutes like the recipe said, I think next time I will try taking it out 5 or 10 minutes before that as the top looked like it was starting to get too dark and the crust was a bit too hard for me. Otherwise a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This banana bread was amazing!!!! It was so moist with a crisper top. I've tried quite a few banana bread recipes and usually go for the ones with high ratings and a lot of people that have tried it but I decided to try this one because it sounded interesting. I thinking creaming half the bananas with the sugar was a great idea. The cinnamon and sugar on top also added a great flavor. I split up the mixture and put it into 2 5x9 pans. They made smaller loafs and I cooked it for 55 minutes total. I did put in a teaspoon of cinnamon because I love it. I did rotate halfway as well. I will be using this as my future banana bread recipe... it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Best I've tried, and believe me, I've tried a bunch!! I think the secret it the creaming of the two bananas with the sugar. Really infuses the flavor. Good going! Did not need to tweek this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I only had three banana's but it worked great. Everyone loved it. I tried my homemade vanilla for the first time and doubled the recipe amount because we love vanilla. Don't know if that made any difference or not but this is an easy and simple delicious recipe. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kewpee Kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Best banana bread I have made. A+ recipe, wonderful banana flavor and a moist fluffy bread. This will be my go-to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Okay first off let me start off by saying I've tried pretty much every carrot cake recipe known to man from this site and many others. I've never left a review because I'm usually just too lazy to be honest so this is a first for me. This recipe is AMAZING. Every time I've made banana bread there is always something that seems to be lacking. Too overdone on top, not enough banana flavor, not moist enough, it's never just been PERFECT. Well THIS is. I'm sitting here laughing because when I gave a piece to my husband to try after it was done I was literally jumping up and down saying YES! YES! FINALLY! That's how perfect it is. I know some of the other recipes on here may stand out due to their bazillion stars but trust and believe this is one serious underrated banana bread! TRY IT! You will NOT be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this recipe exactly as written (omitting the walnuts). I am not a baker, but this was easy! Smells great in the oven and the cinnamon sugar topping is perfect. The inside of the loaf is very moist but not doughy. I used a nonstick loaf pan (though I did still use cooking spray), and as another reviewer stated, I would probably take this out of the oven 5 to 10 minutes earlier next time. It wasn't burned, but definitely browner than it needed to be. Very, very good. Will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is seriously the worst banana bread recipe I have EVER made. It's so heavy, you could throw it at somebody's head, and they'd get a concussion. I am a very good baker, and I would NEVER make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I have tried many banana bread recipes. This is by far my favorite. I loved it. Extremely moist and an amazing banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
It needs baking soda or will be flat! Otherwise, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States