Sour Cream Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
Great, easy recipe, the topping eliminates the need to make a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I made this recipe recently for my daughter's family. To my surprise, my 15 year old granddaughter whose birthday we celebrate on Easter Sunday requested this recipe as she fell in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was one of the best apple pies I've ever had. I had guests over and they loved it too. I used brown sugar in the topping and needed more flour so to spice the topping up, I added a bit of cinnamon. But otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Kudos on this one. My family and friends don't want any other kind of apple pie from me again. I did however make a brown sugar crumble topping instead of the one called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Use less sugar for the filling and only about half of the sugary topping and this pie will turn out great!! It is very easy to make and tastes delicious (looks great too!). I also used real vanilla bean instead of the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was fabulous. Made it for coworkers at work and they raved. I will definitely make this again. I've shared the recipe with all my friends and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I make this all the time and it always turns out GREAT. I change it a bit though; I reduce the Sour cream by 2 tablespoons, use 2 large or even 3 medium size apples, used 1/4 cup brown sugar, and reduced the butter in the struesal to two heaping tablespoons. I also add a little brown sugar to the top of it. To keep the crust from burning, I wrap the pie loosely in foil, cutting open the top so steam can escape and the pie can bake evenly w/o a overly brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiehippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Hands down the best apple pie I have ever made! Yummy!!!! I have made it twice and will make it many times. I did double the amount of apples called for. Other than that I followed the recipe. My boyfriend and I just about ate the whole pie in 1 sitting. (minus 2 pieces). The day after he asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Wonderfully creamy and very delicious. Will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Synkai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This Apple Pie was/is the only apple pie my husband will eat. He hates apple pie. Our friend made this for us when we went to her house for dinner. At first the sour cream seemed like a weird thing to put in apple pie, but it made it so creamy and yummy. It is sweet, but good. Not your traditional apple pie. I'm going to have to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States