Sour Cream Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I make this all the time and it always turns out GREAT. I change it a bit though; I reduce the Sour cream by 2 tablespoons, use 2 large or even 3 medium size apples, used 1/4 cup brown sugar, and reduced the butter in the struesal to two heaping tablespoons. I also add a little brown sugar to the top of it. To keep the crust from burning, I wrap the pie loosely in foil, cutting open the top so steam can escape and the pie can bake evenly w/o a overly brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiehippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Ok recipe,but everything is just real sweet! decent recipe,just need to play with it to reduce the sweetness level...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Use less sugar for the filling and only about half of the sugary topping and this pie will turn out great!! It is very easy to make and tastes delicious (looks great too!). I also used real vanilla bean instead of the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
excellent and delicious!!!!!! the sour cream filling made the difference in this delicious pie. i'm not that great of a baker, so i used a store bought, refridgerated pie dough, which made assembly a snap. the second time i made this i used 6 medium sized apples(2 different varieties for added interest) and the pie was a lot biger and still awesome. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Wonderfully creamy and very delicious. Will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Synkai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was fabulous. Made it for coworkers at work and they raved. I will definitely make this again. I've shared the recipe with all my friends and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I made this pie for the girls at work. The pie was tasteless but the topping went over very well. Everyone liked the topping but overall they didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was one of the best apple pies I've ever had. I had guests over and they loved it too. I used brown sugar in the topping and needed more flour so to spice the topping up, I added a bit of cinnamon. But otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This Apple Pie was/is the only apple pie my husband will eat. He hates apple pie. Our friend made this for us when we went to her house for dinner. At first the sour cream seemed like a weird thing to put in apple pie, but it made it so creamy and yummy. It is sweet, but good. Not your traditional apple pie. I'm going to have to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Hands down the best apple pie I have ever made! Yummy!!!! I have made it twice and will make it many times. I did double the amount of apples called for. Other than that I followed the recipe. My boyfriend and I just about ate the whole pie in 1 sitting. (minus 2 pieces). The day after he asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States